3高度优化的Arcam阿尔法CD播放机升级原雅骏阿尔法

返回地面

这个老实达疣追溯到设计约 1989 我相信我的被做了1991年的雅骏阿尔法使用第一个 DAC 围绕芯片, 在FAM-OUS TDA1541(一).  这里有专门为玩家配备这种芯片了良好的页面: Lampizator家伙.  该网站的作者是FAM-OUS在 DIY 圆圈但修改时错过了一些重要的技巧 光盘 玩家.

仲系统蒸发散升级Arcam Alpha CD in highly tuned state

我倾向于认为 光盘 作为玩家提供了三个主要领域作出实质性的音质改善: 电源线上,层, 时钟ing, 输出级. 许多新手升级的版本未被超越补炉的模拟输出部分进展 光盘 播放器。这是一种耻辱,因为真正的大的收益通常来自改善电源和时钟安排.

电源线上,层

阿尔法是赌注,ter比一些如端口的标准, FEA-TUR-ing两个电源变压器上和 6 光滑,ING上限为X 1000uF的银行 DAC & 运算放大器。这似乎在内部检查清楚,雅骏已经采取了通用的飞利浦 印刷电路板 和电力变压器等, 然后加入自己的 DAC / 输出级板,其由一第二变压器供电。可悲的是这台变压器是容易发生机械的嗡嗡声 (建造不佳框架变压器的副作用).  我的一个较早的修改是用相同的次级电压的环形变压器替换此 (17.5五 - 0V - 17.5V).  主 印刷电路板电源供应器 盖比其他一切力量 DAC 芯片和输出的运算放大器。最, 如果不是所有的, 这些应该更换, 不仅要提高声音质量,而且还因为在瓶盖电解液后可能会干涸 20+ 岁月!  它是时尚,的确是大有好处改变与软恢复型整流二极管, 通常“肖特基”。在我看来,这是对数字电源一个安全的修改,但可能会加重对模拟设备的声音.

拿东西完全是另外一个层面是最容易安装一些额外的用品外板和电线运行它。远程喂养我的阿尔法我有我的新的输出级电源, 数字滤波器 (SAA7220), 解码器 (SAA7310), 伺服驱动芯片以及一个专门为售后市场时钟和变压器 内存 集成电路.  时钟源的整流和滤波是板载我在以前的项目时钟电源发现可能会引发问题外部安装时.

现在我只是说用质量好的包装本节了, 在大CAPA市帽 DAC 平滑,你会得到丰厚的回报.

时钟ing

很长一段时间它是一个流行的修改“重新时钟”的 DAC 芯片中的 光盘 播放器。具有低抖动时钟取代标准定时晶体可以是细微的改进或深刻一个, 视情况而定。有这种时钟的各种售后市场供应商,如帐篷实验室, 奥迪OCOM, LC和, 最近, 传真的音效音频.

BEY-OND DAC 重新计时, 有机会养活一个“干净”的时钟信号的其它部分 光盘 播放器,比如解码芯片, 数字滤波器和伺服甚至部分。在阿尔法我至今喂 4 时钟从我的高保真音频C2主时钟源。对这些重时钟引脚两 DAC, 一个确实的数字滤波器,而另一解码器。其中三个是11.2Mhz, 另一种是5.6Mhz (主时钟除以二, 这是可以在这个特殊的产品).

如果你走这条路你会很高兴你没有!

输出级

我想谈的最后一件事是输出阶段。雅骏确实在电源公平就业, 在时钟和一个典型的穷人作业再次让我们失望与主输出部分一点点, 但也有差远了!  输出级采用两个单运算放大器每个通道和一些质量好的瓶盖过滤 HF 噪声。没有什么本质上的错误与运算放大器,但当时可用的那些都不是很不错的。这是可能的,这些升级 4 运算放大器,其结果将是一件好事。我试着用一些Burr Brown的OPA627替换最后对运算放大器的, 但我没有得到的声音。如果没有进一步的寻找到它,我认为这可能是因为他们不是单位增益稳定, 这意味着他们可以纯粹作为一个“缓冲”不工作, 他们必须放大信号.

我看着之所以没有进一步的是因为我使用的是建立一个全新的输出级 印刷电路板 我从DIYAudio.com论坛来源。这是由纳尔逊·帕斯设计, 一个男人著名的名称传递实验室出售他的大A类放大器设计。这个输出级是一个量子飞跃超音速!  ESPE-cially所以如果, 像我这样的, 你享受一个温暖醇厚的声音。造成这种情况的电源是关断板.

森玛丽

我将添加到这篇文章,因为我想改进,但它是非常困难的,以适应这一切因为有这么多,可以做一个老 光盘 播放机!  我只是希望那些磨了几胃口“永远的完美声音”求是难以捉摸的,飞利浦向我们承诺与光盘的问世。如果你喜欢这篇文章,并想请求对一个特定区域更加详细,那么请顺路评论, 我一定会看到它和应对.

有你自己的一些想法? 下面放纵自己通过评论! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

3 条评论

的gravatarSimonty

感谢安德鲁! 还有很多我想谈谈在这里, 当我避开它. 有趣的是我刚刚看到你的COM-换货 3 周后。.

回复
的gravatar罗伯托

喜买了一岁,但完美的雅骏阿尔法 光盘 播放机, 这听起来不错,但我想一点点升级, 这是三个的第一步骤?......什么你觉得把两个变压器就位运算放大器的新的东西,而不是改变了运算放大器?...
谢谢

回复

3Highly tuned Arcam Alpha CD playerUpgrading an original Arcam Alpha

Back­ground

This old stal­wart dates back in design to about 1989 and I believe mine was made in 1991.  The Arcam Alpha uses one of the first DAC chips around, the fam­ous TDA1541(A).  Here’s a good page ded­ic­ated to play­ers fea­tur­ing this chip: Lamp­iz­at­or guy.  The author of that site is fam­ous in DIY circles but misses a few import­ant tricks when modi­fy­ing CD play­ers.

Sec­tions to upgradeArcam Alpha CD in highly tuned state

I tend to think of CD play­ers as offer­ing three main areas for mak­ing sub­stan­tial sound qual­ity improve­ments: power sup­plies, clock­ing, out­put stage. Many novice upgraders nev­er pro­gress bey­ond fet­tling the ana­logue out­put sec­tion of a CD play­er.  This is a shame because the really big gains typ­ic­ally come from improv­ing power sup­plies and clock arrange­ments.

Power sup­plies

The Alpha is bet­ter than some as stand­ard, fea­tur­ing two power trans­formers and a 6 x 1000uF bank of smooth­ing caps for the DAC & op-amps.  It seems clear upon intern­al inspec­tion that Arcam have taken a gen­er­ic Philips PCB and power trans­former etc, then added their own DAC / out­put stage board which is powered by a second trans­former.  Sadly this trans­former is prone to mech­an­ic­al buzz­ing (a side effect of poorly con­struc­ted frame trans­formers).  One of my earli­er modi­fic­a­tions was to replace this with a tor­oid­al trans­former of the same sec­ond­ary voltages (17.5V — 0V — 17.5V).  The main PCB’s PSU caps power everything oth­er than the DAC chip and out­put op-amps.  Most, if not all, of these should be replaced, not only to improve sound qual­ity but also because the elec­tro­lyte in the caps could be dry­ing up after 20+ years!  It is fash­ion­able and indeed seems bene­fi­cial to change rec­ti­fier diodes with soft-recov­ery types, usu­ally “schot­tky”.  In my opin­ion this is a safe modi­fic­a­tion on digit­al sup­plies but may worsen the sound on ana­logue sup­plies.

To take things to a whole oth­er level it’s easi­est to mount some extra sup­plies off-board and run wires to it.  Remotely feed­ing my Alpha I have sup­plies for my new out­put stage, the digit­al fil­ter (SAA7220), decoder (SAA7310), servo driver chips as well as a trans­former ded­ic­ated to the after-mar­ket clock and the RAM IC.  The rec­ti­fic­a­tion and smooth­ing for clock sup­ply is on-board as I found on a pre­vi­ous pro­ject clock power sup­plies can cause issues when moun­ted extern­ally.

For now I’ll just wrap this sec­tion up by say­ing use good qual­ity, LARGE capa­city caps on the DAC smooth­ing and you’ll be richly rewar­ded.

Clock­ing

For a long while it’s been a pop­u­lar modi­fic­a­tion to “re-clock” the DAC chip in your CD play­er.  Repla­cing the stand­ard tim­ing crys­tal with a low-jit­ter clock can be a subtle improve­ment or a pro­found one, depend­ing on the cir­cum­stances.  There are vari­ous after-mar­ket vendors of such clocks such as Tent Labs, Audi­ocom, LC and, more recently, Fidel­ity Audio.

Bey­ond DAC re-clock­ing, there are oppor­tun­it­ies to feed a “clean” clock sig­nal to oth­er parts of a CD play­er such as the decoder chip, digit­al fil­ter and maybe even parts of the servo.  In the Alpha I have so far fed 4 clock feeds from my Fidel­ity Audio C2 mas­ter clock.  Two of these re-clock pins on the DAC, one does the digit­al fil­ter and the oth­er the decoder.  Three of these are 11.2Mhz, the oth­er is 5.6Mhz (the main clock divided by two, which is avail­able on this par­tic­u­lar product).

If you go down this path you’ll be glad you did!

Out­put stage

The last thing I want to talk about is the out­put stage.  Arcam did a fair job on the power sup­plies, a typ­ic­ally poor job on the clock­ing and again let us down a little bit with the main out­put sec­tion, but there are far worse!  The out­put stage uses two single op-amps per chan­nel and some good qual­ity caps to fil­ter HF noise.  There’s noth­ing intrins­ic­ally wrong with op-amps but the ones avail­able at the time weren’t very good.  It’s pos­sible to upgrade these 4 op-amps and the res­ults would be good.  I tried to replace the final pair of op-amps with some Burr Brown OPA627, but I didn’t get sound.  Without look­ing fur­ther into it I think it may be because they are not unity gain stable, mean­ing they can­not work purely as a “buf­fer”, they must amp­li­fy the sig­nal.

The reas­on I looked no fur­ther was because I was build­ing up a whole new out­put stage using a PCB I sourced from the DIYAudio.com for­um.  This was designed by Nel­son Pass, a man fam­ous for his large class A amp­li­fi­er designs sold under the name Pass Labs.  This out­put stage was a quantum leap for­ward in son­ics!  Espe­cially so if, like me, you enjoy a warm full-bod­ied sound.  The power sup­ply for this is off-board.

Sum­mary

I will add to this art­icle as I think of improve­ments but it’s very dif­fi­cult to fit it all in as there is SO MUCH that can be done to an old CD play­er!  I would just hope to whet a few appet­ites of those seek­ing the elu­sive “per­fect sound forever” that Philips prom­ised us with the advent of the Com­pact Disc.  If you enjoyed this art­icle and want to request more detail on one par­tic­u­lar area then please drop in a com­ment, I’ll be sure to see it and respond.

Think we've missed something? Let us know by commenting below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

3 Comments

gravatarSimonty

Thanks Andrew! There’s lots I want to talk about on here, when I get around to it. Funny how I only just saw your com­ment 3 weeks later..

Reply
gravatarRoberto

Hi bought an old but per­fect Arcam Alpha CD play­er, it sounds good but I would like to upgrade it little by little, which is the first step of the three?…instead of chan­ging the op amps with some­thing new­er what do you think about to put two trans­formers in place of the op amps?…
Thank you

Reply