70Canor佳能CanoScan LIDE扫描仪取得与Windows旧的扫描仪工作 7 x64的

在最近几个月里,我遇到过那里的人都和我联系寻求帮助,让他们的几个问题 USB 扫描器采用工作ing对新 电脑.  在每种情况下,新 电脑 来与Win-DOWS 7 x64的, 和扫描器采用已 USB 由Canon和Nikon制造设备。这两种成像专家已经严重下降的球配套产品, 包括不是所有不久前一些相当昂贵的保费套件。

该 2 最新的设备,我不得不修复一直是佳能LIDE佳能CanoScan 50, 和尼康COOLSCAN IV ED。佳能是一个相当标准的平板扫描仪, 和尼康是滑动扫描器.

1. 第一个解决方案, 是一个单向版本-SAL选项, 它燮,港口很多在Win-DOWS扫描净入学率 7 x64的.

  • 向下载荷 VueS灿 从哈姆里克
  • 连接扫描仪
  • 安装
  • UNIN失速它
  • 打开设备管理器 (右键点击我的电脑, 选择道具,ER-的关系, 点击左手边设备管理器链接)
  • 找到扫描仪 (未知设备通常)
  • 右键点击, 并选择“更新驱动程序软件”
  • 选择“浏览计算机以查找驱动程序软件”
  • 单击浏览,浏览到c:\VueScan
  • 点击next等直到完成
  • 从制造商下载并安装扫描仪应用程序, 但不安装驱动程序

2. 第二个解决方案, 我能使用的佳能, 是一个特定的盟友制造的驱动程序

  • 下载自定义驱动程序的礼貌 网络whitenoise
  • 通过设备管理器安装
  • 安装佳能工具箱

认为我们已经错过了什么? 让我们通过下面的评论知道. 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

70 条评论

的gravatar墨菲

试过第1'的做法,我只设法安装驱动程序, 所以它不是在设备管理器抱怨. 然而,对于正常运作需要的TWAIN部分, 当您安装扫描仪工具箱中未提供. 与佳能CanoScan立德尝试 20.

回复
的gravatarFrancel Kelbrick

亲爱的乔恩, 我有一个旧的PC运行Windows 7, 我从朋友处收到了佳能佳能CanoScan LiDE20. 与他们的电脑不兼容. 他们可以提供加时赛司机. 我试图得到这个工作. 你有什么建议?

回复
的gravatar亚历杭德罗·特列斯C.

这并没有帮助我. 我有一个COLORPAGE生动的1200XE,这并没有为我把控制器上工作。.

回复
的gravatar科内利斯

很好的建议. 我不能追求第二个选项becasue车手们不可用.

回复
的gravatar安迪

在Win二手Vuescanner软件 10 x64的. 起初没有工作, 必须断开并重新连接 USB 并重新启动软件. 无需支付软件. 就拿扫描的截图,并用它来保存到文件.

回复
的gravatar斯科特

VueScan的根本不是一个选项. 这是高估, 超过硬件 (全在一台打印机/扫描仪零售价是下 25 美元美国). 看来,软件开发人员认为他们自己的世界为晚. 即使与香港专业教育学院在IBM AS400舞台上工作的人不贪婪.

回复
的gravatar农庄

简单的解决办法是使用LIDE 70 x64驱动程序, LIDE70 CANOSCAN工具箱软件和VueScan的. 只要安装两个, 连接您的LIDE80和VueScan的将使用LIDE70软件同时承认你LIDE80为附

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

更多信息...
通过“DNA”修改后的驾驶员声称拥有 4 修改
1. 硬件ID插入
2. 的设备ID的插入
3. 更换立德 60 颜色配置文件与正确立德 50 ICC文件
4. 正确平板扫描区域的尺寸和成像能力的插入

设备和硬件ID更改会在CNQL60.inf发
颜色配置文件是CNS12Z.icc这是在CNQL60子文件夹
我没能找到一个变化账户 #4 - 这是我想停止我的 4 从工作的尝试

所以 - 我已经检查每一个文件的任何二进制变化

所有根的文件 (除了INF) 相同
在cnq_x64所有的文件是相同的
所有在cnql60文件 (除了国际刑事法院) 相同
所有CNQSG111的文件是相同的

因此,只有 2 文件已改变 - .icc颜色配置文件,并在.inf

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

还有

国际刑事法院的文件已被复制 (未修改) 从32位Lide50司机. 因此,DNA驱动器由Lide60 64位驱动程序, 从立德的颜色配置文件 50 32位驱动程序. 和改性INF文件. 所以, 使得修改后的样 20 司机 (如果可能的话) 应包括只是复制Lide20 32位颜色配置文件 (ICC) 文件,并做出正确的修改INF文件

回复
的gravatar盛产

乔恩喜. 我刚刚注意到这些新的回复, 感谢这些. 我还是想尝试, 然而,您的评论后, 20 九月,你从来没有工作,我撵我N670u的扫描仪驱动程序 (这是我今年夏天买了一辆车启动出售一镑) 在我的花园里准备的拐角处一箱拿地提示我,然后转向. 这提示的行程迟迟没有到来, 所以在技术上还是有扫描仪 - 虽然我也不太清楚最后的 2 几个月外将一直善待它。. 如果他们有那么我将有很快的车手戏🙂

回复
的gravatar盛产

你好. 我非常热衷于尝试的N670u (lide20) 司机, 但 FTP 链接不工作. 是否有可能重新上传文件,请? 干杯, 盛产.

回复
的gravatar盛产

非常感谢您的答复, 好,看到这个帖子仍然活跃🙂 , 我以前曾读到有关使用XP模式, 但试图避免. 我所期待的是这些文件的一个新链接, 所以我可以尝试一下:

http://ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver_alpha4.7z
http://ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver_alt.7z

具体来说, 我觉得 http://ftp.diymediahome.org FTP 服务器不再有效, 但也许有人人副本, 或乔恩在其他地方重新上传.

回复
的gravatar迈克尔·罗斯

您好乔恩,

我已经按照这次谈话以极大的兴趣,因为我有我的N670U和Win7x64同样的问题.
我想知道如果有一个最终的结果还没有,或者如果你需要别人来测试你的努力?

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

我没有得到任何地方在这很长一段时间, 但最近回来了. 有一些迹象表明,Lide20可能工作与砍死Lide25驱动程序, 虽然我是相当怀疑的成功机会. 我要看看在未来的2-3周建设一些新的测试候选. 如果任何人有一个Lide20他们愿意来测试,将是巨大. 如果我能得到一个lide20司机去那么N670U也应该用同样的黑客 - 我相信它使用相同的驱动程序的lide20

回复
的gravatar吉米

乔恩喜, 我想知道如果你有佳能立德 20 驱动程序,以完成和工作ING. 我试图从后下测试你的最新版本, 但您的FTP下跌. 我是不是能够降负荷试. 如果您已经完成改装的驱动程序并让他们工作。. 它是POS-sible,如果你能提供一个链接. 谢谢你在前进

回复
的gravatar托托

第一个选项死亡不起作用. 当我的unin-搪塞扫描仪, 设备管理器没有检测到它不再, 即使不作为“未知设备”, 它根本就不在Win-DOWS存在. 所以, 没有机会来更新驱动程序软件或任何东西.

回复
的gravatar穆罕默德。

这与我TOR-地税工作 100% 对于卡诺扫描LIDE 20 对于Windows 7 64位
[移除链接]

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

感谢您的链接穆罕默德, 但VueS-CAN是com-MER-CIAL软件; 链接到它的洪流可以得到我们的麻烦,所以我不得不将其删除. 当然工作VueScan的意志 - 这是如果你乐意为它付出的卓越解决方案🙂

回复
的gravatar罗伯特

我有一个“爱普生每FEC重刑 1260 照片“扫描仪, 这是一个32位的扫描仪. 我现在已经买了一个双赢DOWS 7 64-位计算机和爱普生告诉我,他们没有修改该扫描仪的驱动程序, 这样我就可以,不使用它. 任何帮助将不胜感激.

回复
的gravatar卡塞姆

您好乔恩,

因为我struggeling 2 周使用佳能立德 80 设备与我的新 64 位WIN-DOWS 7 戴尔电脑. 更深层次的研究,我在关于这一主题的网络上找到的是您在此职位,我想知道,如果你有进一步推动这项工作得到的东西可行的机会 ?
提前非常感谢您的努力,赞赏.

回复
的gravatarISIS

我已经试过这两种方法也不为我工作至今.

该VueScan伟大的工作,只要我用附带的扫描仪应用程序, 但COV-ERS的所有图像以水痕, 除非你购买付费版本,锡永, 我买不起.

我试图用卡诺扫描工具盒吧, 但是当我选择“保存”并点击扫描, 系统提示我“选择来源”,并显示VueScan TWAIN 1.0 (32-32). 我点击选择, 并得到一个错误信息“无法选择TWAIN来源”.

当我点击扫描-1, 然后扫描, 它提示我“指定扫描图像被传输的程序”. 为什么我转fer'这一个亲克? 我不知道这意味着什么. 我只是想扫描并保存到我的桌面.

我发现DNA的安装很混乱. 我插在扫描仪, 萃取泰德的文件, 并希望视窗会发现在自己的司机. 没有这样的运气. 我终于LOC-ATED它, 有一刻它由系统确认. 我试图佳能CanoScan并与VueScan同样的问题我有. 之后我拔掉扫描仪和插入它放回, 司机完全没有了认可.

DNA的驱动程序是表观的ently无符号, 如此双赢DOWS 7 64-位似乎并不喜欢它. 在你发布的链接的开发商说,你必须在安全模式下,每次登录和关闭一些在Windows中,因此将其识别. 那是太紧张,FUL给我, 特别是自Windows闪烁威胁弹出窗口阻止这种行为.

在此之前的所有, 我试图安装佳能LiDE60司机, 而我听说的作品与LiDE50, 但我不知道我安装了它COR-rectly. 我不能在我的系统中的任何地方找到它.

有没有人想出任何其他选项? 该VueS,可以很好工作, 但扫描仪软件没, 所以也许有一些解决方法只使用驱动程序, 与将识别驾驶员的一些其它软件?

感谢名单这么多的新见解的人可能有.

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

我已经给你发一些,事情试试. DNA的驱动程序是MOD-I-田间'60司机. 我不知道你在哪里听说过,它需要安全模式 - 我可以向你保证,它不. Windows会警告你,当你第一次安装驱动程序,但您可以选择继续安装. 将档案解压缩,然后进行安装直通设备管理器. 如果你不知道如何通过设备管理器安装驱动程序让我知道我会做一个一步一步的为您

回复
的gravatar

我已经找到了最好的解决办法是安装运行Windows XP的虚拟机: 如果你一直保持你的旧XP的磁盘和许可证号码从旧PC的底部, 那么就比较容易建立使用使用VMware播放器 在EduGeek这些条指令
一旦安装, 你基本上可以启动Windows XP的窗口, 并安装您的旧扫描仪驱动程序 (和任何与此有关的其他XP软件) 而这一切就像一个魅力!

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

这是一个选项奥利维尔但我认为它有点像用大锤牛刀 - 运行的整个虚拟PC只为您的扫描仪是相当多的麻烦,尤其是当你考虑到需要安装同时支持VMware的安全更新和Windows XP的副本中安装它! 你还要么需要临, Windows Vista中的旗舰版或企业版/ 7/8,或者您需要一个有效的Windows XP序列号. 作为最后手段,它可以工作,但如果可能的话,最好是得到扫描仪本身的工作在Windows 7 这就是这篇文章的重点是. 这就是说 - 感谢您的链接 - 我敢肯定,这将是有用的人,需要的不得已的选择. 对于那些不具备串行的XP但有专业, 旗舰版或企业可以通过“Windows XP模式”,这是可以做同样的事情 降负荷免费从Microsoft. 干杯.

回复
的gravatar托托

没有“工作就像一个魅力”对我来说. 我安装了Windows XP模式,即使我的兄弟mfc6490cw安装有老司机和所有, 它没有这个虚拟的环境下工作. XPmode是暨误码率,一些, 慢如蜗牛, 我什至不得到超过 10 我linetester FPS播放.
我是一个卡通动画, 我用这个A3扫描仪在我的画 - 英格斯扫描. 我升级到双赢DOWS 7 而即使兄弟提供 64 位驱动程序的机器, 它不 100% 船儿COM-PAT-IBLE, 导致我的动画制作软件时,我尝试了一些图纸扫描冻结. 我不建议的补双赢DOWS XP模式, it's好像回到了Windows 95的......一切都是个问题.

回复
的gravatar亚历山大

继续努力我的朋友为解决此compatibily问题在Windows 7 64 位. 对我来说it's更好的扫描仪佳能立德的TWAIN驱动 20 比VueScan的.

回复
的gravatar

你好,

发现后经过一段长时间的调查如何让我的佳能CanoScan N670U与Windows工作 7 x64的教授. 我用了你的第一个想法. 我的电脑现在识别出,文件系统格式的扫描仪. 但是,无论是佳能工具箱也伊尔凡查看可以找到它作为TWAIN源. 我做任何东西错了? 我使用的是卡诺扫描工具盒 4.9 我使用了最新版本 - 锡安Vues灿. 我的COM-完全删除, 后软碟-ER安装 - 一个重刑 (我什至删除ç:/vuescan).

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

与尼康我用的软件是尼康自己的软件, 其中发现的扫描仪精. 我不知道为什么你没有得到TWAIN接口 - VueScan确实提供了TWAIN驱动程序. 什么是扫描仪识别为设备管理器? 如果您单击驱动程序选项卡,驱动程序的详细信息按钮是版本列有哪些文件?

回复
的gravatar

嘿, 感谢您的快速响应🙂
它被认定为佳能LiDE20, 这实际上使用相同的驱动程序作为N670U在前窗版本. 它说, 该扫描仪是否工作细.
对道具 - 呃 - 关系的第一页说:
男子-U-FAC造商: 不利用,能
模型: 卡诺扫描
MOD-EL-NUM-BER: 不利用,能
猫egory: 扫描仪
Descrip重刑: 不利用,能

关于在网页“硬件”说:
男子-U-FAC造商: 火腿里克软洁具

如果我点击属性 - >司机:
驱动器-MAN-U-FAC造商: 火腿里克软洁具
驱动器-D-吃: 11.01.1999
养老金的DriverVer: 1.0.0.0

在详细说:
驱动程序文件:
Ç:\的Windows System32 驱动程序 ksthunk.sys
Ç:\的Windows System32 drviers usbscan.sys

我希望我跨lated一切权利, 因为我双赢DOWS是在德国人兰语言. 否则, 我希望你下站的一切,我写了, OTH-ER-明智随时问, 我的英语不是很好😉

感谢在病房对你有所帮助!

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

我不知道是否有可能rehack司机与LiDE20工作以及LiDE50. 你可以给我的硬件ID为扫描仪? 它应该是这个样子“%LPTENUMCNQL25.DeviceDesc%= CNQL25Install,USBVID_04A9&PID_2220” - 它在设备管理器中找到, 设备支撑,ER-的关系, 详细信息选项卡, 并从“说明”的下拉框更改为“硬件ID”. 我看它是否有可能入侵的东西在一起

回复
的gravatar

哇, 这将是简单的AMAZ-ING! 好, 我想我已经找到你要的信息. 有两个ID:

USB\VID_04A9&PID_220D&REV_0100
USB\VID_04a9&PID_220D

再次, 在此先感谢! 🙂

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

行. 没有舞会,还ISES, 但是这给一试我,让我知道你是怎么得到.
ftp://anonymous@diymediahome.org:anon@ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver.7z
使用它们按照说明进行的选项 2 以上 - 所以通过设备管理安装它们,然后再安装的Vista的X32佳能CANOSCAN工具箱 (从 http://files.canon-europe.com/files/soft25829/Software/s7117ENx.exe). 如果它似乎工作检查它是否使用了正确的扫描区域 - 它可能不是

回复
的gravatar

嘿,

再次, 非常感谢! 🙂
我做到了,你告诉我,和devicemanager仍然说, 这是一个立德 20. 当我开始卡诺扫描工具盒, 它说, 会有立德 50. 当我尝试这样开始扫描宁说: “可以,不能COM-MU-NIC-吃了扫描仪. 我的电缆断开或扫描仪我关闭. 检查状态. 扫描仪驱动程序将被关闭。”
好, 该扫描仪是con-NEC-泰德, 所以它应该工作. 任何想法?

格尔茨

回复
的gravatar

当我点击确定有, 似乎有另一条消息:

“无法打开TWAIN来源. 请检查CON-NEC-10. 然后重新启动工具箱“。

回复
的gravatar

大家好,

我有一些坏消息🙁
有了您的 2ND 版本 - 锡永的驱动程序, 我得到同样的错误,因为与 1ST 版本 - 锡永.
当我尝试你 3RD 的想法,告诉设备管理器安装驱动程序, 它说, 不存在任何的驱动程序与我的扫描仪工作.

迎接 - 英格斯

回复
的gravatar

大家好 :),

版本 - 锡永 3 是DEF功能于itely病房一步!
这是发生了什么:
当我已经安装了驱动程序, 该扫描仪星TET MAK-ING一些噪音, 我觉得他CAL-IB级本身? 他做同样的事情在重新启动后再次, 没有发生与前两个版本.
在佳能CanoScan工具箱我能“佳能CanoScan立德之间进行选择 20 11.0 (32-32)“和”卡诺扫描立德 50 1.1 (32-32). 当我选择立德 50, 同样的事情之前,HAP-钢笔. 但是,当我选择立德 20, 该扫描仪使得一些声音再次, 当我打开它, 的扫描东西UND呃玻璃开启蓝光和动作像5mms向前. 然后我得到的fol-低ING消息 (卡诺扫描以及伊尔凡视图): 首先双赢DOWS: “可以,不能COM-MU-NIC-吃了扫描仪. 线缆可能断开,或者我的扫描仪被关闭. 检查状态. 扫描仪驱动程序将被关闭。“当我点击确定: “TWAIN错误! 无法连接到设备或TWAIN驱动程序没有安装!.
再次, 非常感谢! 🙂

回复
的gravatar

顺便说一句, 光也可能有另一种颜色, 喜欢白色或一些,事情, 我是色盲😉

回复
的gravatarProgi1984

你好, 我有一个双赢DOWS 7 位x64的法国, 如果你需要一个又一个佳能佳能CanoScan立德 20 进行测试, 我在那里.

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

源丰本汽车工业感谢. 和卢波 - 感谢您的耐心. 我已经用尽的试图修复一个驱动程序的简单方法, 所以现在我挖周围试图找到另一种方式. 我有一个非常忙碌的一周,下周,但之后几个星期的假期, 所以希望,充分,我会回来给你在未来的 2 周. 对不起它不是越快.

回复
的gravatar

不需要道歉🙂非常感谢你为你做的工作,并把你的时间. 如果您有任何东西准备好测试ing, 只是让我知道=) 再次感谢事先! 🙂

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

啊, 对不起 - 我的错. 反弹是一个“非法附件” - 我不知道的Gmail不允许exe文件, 即使压缩包内容? 将与修改过的扩展重新发送...

回复
的gravatarProgi1984

总是错误“无法选择TWAIN装置”......但现在扫描仪做出这样的init一些声音.

回复
的gravatar刘若英

乔恩喜,
非常感谢你的努力得到这个LIDE扫描仪工作. 什么好消息? 我有一些在这里,这些扫描仪,并试图让V4,但FTP链接没有工作对我来说. 您可以通过电子邮件,请和我设法得到它在w7/64工作?
来自德国的问候和祝福

回复
的gravatar

遗憾, 我没有点击回复, 我的职务是在COM,目顶部, 但我不希望重贴一次🙂

回复
的gravatar阿德D.R.

你好! 最近, 我只是连接我的佳能立德 20 在我的新安装赢 7 64位. 我已经在这个线程上下滚动,现在的问题是关于找不到TWAIN源. 是否有希望或possibilty来解决这个问题?

非常感谢前.

回复

66Canor CanoScan LIDE ScannerGet your old scanner working with Windows 7 x64

In recent months I’ve encountered several problems where people have contacted me asking for help getting their USB scanners working on new PCs.  In each case the new PCs have come with Windows 7 x64, and the scanners have been USB devices produced by Canon and Nikon.  Both of these imaging specialists have seriously dropped the ball on supporting products, including some quite expensive premium kit from not all that long ago. 

The 2 most recent devices I’ve had to fix have been a Canon CanoScan LIDE 50, and a Nikon CoolScan IV ED.  The Canon is a fairly standard flatbed scanner, and the Nikon is a slide scanner.

1. The first solution, is a universal option, which supports a lot of scanners on Windows 7 x64.

  • Download VueScan from Hamrick
  • Connect the scanner
  • Install it
  • Uninstall it
  • Open device manager (right click on my computer, choose properties, click on device manager link on left hand side)
  • Find the scanner (unknown device usually)
  • Right click, and select “update driver software”
  • Choose “browse my computer for driver software”
  • Click browse and browse to c:\VueScan
  • Click next etc until finished
  • Download and install the scanner application from the manufacturer, but don’t install the drivers

2. The second solution, which I was able to use for the Canon, is a specifically made driver

  • Download the customised driver courtesy of webwhitenoise
  • Install via device manager
  • Install the Canon Toolbox

Please send us your thoughts by commenting below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

66 Comments

gravatar Alejandro Téllez C.

Esto no me sirvió. Yo tengo un ColorPage-Vivid 1200XE y esta cosa no me funcionó para instalarle el controlador..

Reply
gravatar ks

Thanks for the info, manage to use option 2 method to make Lide50 to work under win10 x64

Reply
gravatar Cornelis

Very good suggestion. I could not pursue the second option becasue the drivers were unavailable.

Reply
gravatar Andy

Used Vuescanner software on Win 10 x64. Didn’t work at first, had to disconnect and reconnect USB and restart the software. No need to pay for the software. Just take a screenshot of the scan and use that to save to file.

Reply
gravatar Scott

Vuescan simply isn’t an option. It is overpriced, more than the hardware is (an all in one printer/scanner street price is under 25 dollars US). It seems that Software developers think they own the world as of late. Even the people Ive worked with in the IBM AS400 arena are not as greedy.

Reply
gravatar grange

Easy solution is to use the LIDE 70 x64 drivers, LIDE70 canoscan toolbox software and vuescan. just install both, connect your LIDE80 and vuescan will use the LIDE70 softwares while recognising your LIDE80 as being attached

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Additional information…
The modified driver by “DNA” claims to have 4 modifications
1. Insertion of Hardware ID
2. Insertion of Device ID
3. Replacement of LiDE 60 Colour Profile with correct LiDE 50 ICC file
4. Insertion of correct flatbed scan area dimensions and imaging capabilities

The device and hardware ID changes are made in CNQL60.inf
The colour profile file is CNS12Z.icc which is in the CNQL60 subfolder
I wasn’t able to find a change to account for #4 – which is what I think stopped my 4th attempt from working

So – I’ve checked every file for any binary changes

All of the files in the root (except the inf) are identical
All files in cnq_x64 are identical
all of the files in cnql60 (except the icc) are identical
All of the files in CNQSG111 are identical

So only 2 files have changed – the .icc colour profile file and the .inf

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Furthermore

The icc file has been copied (unmodified) from the 32bit Lide50 drivers. So the DNA driver consists of the Lide60 x64 driver, with the colour profile from the lide 50 32bit drivers. And a modified INF file. So, making a modified lide 20 driver (if possible) should consist just of copying the Lide20 32bit colour profile (icc) file and making the right modifications to the INF file

Reply
gravatar Rich

Hi Jon. I’ve only just noticed these newer replies, thanks for these. I would still like to experiment, however after your comment on 20th Sep that you never got the drivers working I chucked my N670u scanner (which I bought at a car boot sale this summer for a quid) in a box in the corner of my garden ready to take to the tip when i next go. That tip trip has yet to come, so technically I still have the scanner – though I’m not too sure the last 2 months outside will have been kind to it.. if they have then I will have a play with the drivers soon 🙂

Reply
gravatar Rich

Hi. I’m very keen to try the N670u (lide20) driver, but the FTP link is not working. Is it possible to re-upload the file please? Cheers, Rich.

Reply
gravatar Rich

Many thanks for the reply, good to see this post is still active 🙂 , I had previously read about using XP mode, but was trying to avoid that. What I was hoping for was a new link for these files, so I could try them:

http://ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver_alpha4.7z
http://ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver_alt.7z

Specifically, I think the http://ftp.diymediahome.org FTP server is no longer active, but perhaps someone has copy of them, or Jon could re-upload elsewhere.

Reply
gravatar Andrew

Hi, is there an update here on getting the LiDE20 working with Win 7 64bit ?

Reply
gravatar Michael Roth

Hello Jon,

I’ve followed this conversation with great interest as I have the same Problem with my N670U and Win7x64.
I’m wondering if there is a final result yet or if you need someone else to test your efforts?

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

I haven’t got anywhere with this in a long time, but recently came back to it. There are some indications that the Lide20 might work with a hacked Lide25 driver, although I’m fairly sceptical about the chances of success. I’ll look at building some new test candidates over the next 2-3 weeks. If anyone has a Lide20 they’re willing to test with that would be great. If I can get a lide20 driver going then a N670U should also work with the same hack – i believe it uses the same drivers as the lide20

Reply
gravatar Jimmy

Hi Jon, i was wondering if you were got Canon Lide 20 Drivers to finish and working. I was trying to test your latest build from post below, but your ftp is down. I was not able to download to try. If you have finished modding the drivers and have them working.. Is it possible if you can provide a link. Thank you in advance

Reply
gravatar Toto

First option dies not work. When I uninstall the scanner, device manager does not detect it any longer, not even as “unknown device”, it simply does not exist under Windows. So, no chance to update driver software or anything.

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Uninstall it how? Its very unusual for Win 7 not to see the hardware at all. What physical connection does the scanner use?

Reply
gravatar Mohammad

This torrent work with me 100% for CanoScan LIDE 20 for Windows 7 64bit
[link removed]

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Thanks for the link Mohammad, but VueScan is commercial software; a link to a torrent of it could get us in trouble so I’ve had to remove it. VueScan will of course work – it is an excellent solution if you’re happy to pay for it 🙂

Reply
gravatar Robert

I have a ‘Epson Perfection 1260 Photo’ scanner, which is a 32-bit scanner. I have now bought a Windows 7 64-bit computer and Epson tells me they have not modified the drivers of this scanner, so I cannot use it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Reply
gravatar Kacem

Hello Jon,

I am struggeling since 2 weeks to use a Canon Lide 80 device with my new 64 bit Windows 7 Dell PC. The deeper research I found in the web about the subject is your hereby post and I am wondering if you had the chance to push this work further to get something workable ?
Many thanks in advance for your appreciated effort.

Reply
gravatar isis

I’ve tried both of these approaches and neither worked for me so far.

The VueScan worked great as long as I used the scanner application that came with it, but it covers all images with watermarks, unless you buy the paid version, which I can’t afford.

I tried to use CanoScan Toolbox with it, but when I choose ‘Save’ and hit Scan, I’m prompted to ‘Select Source’ and it displays VueScan TWAIN 1.0 (32-32). I click Select, and get an error message ‘Unable to select TWAIN source’.

When I click on Scan-1, then Scan, it prompts me to ‘Specify a program where the scanned image is transferred’. Why would I ‘transfer’ it to a program? I have no clue what that means. I simply want to scan and save to my desktop.

I found the installation of DNA very confusing. I plugged in the scanner, extracted the files, and hoped Windows would find the driver on its own. No such luck. I finally located it, and for a moment it was recognized by the system. I tried CanoScan and had the same problems I had with VueScan. After I unplugged the scanner and plugged it back in, the driver wasn’t recognized at all anymore.

The DNA driver is apparently unsigned, so Windows 7 64-bit doesn’t seem to like it. The developer at the link you posted said that you have to log on in safe mode every time and turn off something in Windows so it will recognize it. That’s way too stressful to me, especially since Windows flashes threatening popups discouraging this behavior.

Before all this, I tried to install the Canon LiDE60 driver, which I’d heard works with LiDE50, but I’m not sure I installed it correctly. I can’t find it anywhere in my system.

Has anyone figured out any other option? The VueScan worked great, but the scanner software didn’t, so maybe there’s some workaround to use only the driver, with some other software that will recognize the driver?

Thanx so much for any new insight anyone might have.

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

I’ve sent you something to try. The DNA driver IS the modified ’60 driver. I don’t know where you heard that it requires safe mode – I can assure you that it doesn’t. Windows WILL warn you when you first install the driver but you can choose to install anyway. Extract the files and then install it thru device manager. If you don’t know how to install drivers via device manager let me know I’ll do a step-by-step for you

Reply
gravatar Olivier

The best solution I have found is to install a virtual machine running Windows XP: if you have kept your old XP disk and the license number from the bottom of your old PC, then it is relatively easy to set-up using VMware player using these instructions on EduGeek
Once installed, you can basically start Windows XP in a window, and install your old scanner driver (and any other XP software for that matter) and it all works like a charm!

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

This is an option Olivier but I think its a bit like using a sledgehammer to crack a nut – running a whole virtual PC just for your scanner is quite a lot of hassle especially when you take into account the need to install security updates for both VMware and the copy of Windows XP installed within it! You also either need the Pro, Ultimate or Enterprise editions of Windows Vista/7/8 or you need a valid Windows XP serial number. As a last resort it will work but if at all possible it is better to get the scanner working natively in Windows 7 which is what this post is focused on. That said – thanks for the link – I’m sure it will be useful to anyone that needs the last resort option. For those that don’t have an XP serial but DO have Professional, Ultimate or Enterprise you can do the same thing via “Windows XP Mode” which is available to download for free from Microsoft. Cheers.

Reply
gravatar Toto

Did not “work like a charm” for me. I installed windows xp mode and even though my Brother mfc6490cw is installed with old drivers and all, it does not work under this virtual environment. XPmode is cumbersome, slow as snail, I don´t even get more than 10 fps playback on my linetester.
I am a cartoon animator, I use this A3 scanner to scan in my drawings. I upgraded to windows 7 and even though Brother offers a 64 bits driver for the machine, it is not 100% twain compatible, causing my animation software to freeze when I try to scan in some drawings. I do not recommend windows XP mode, it´s like going back to windows 95… everything is a problem.

Reply
gravatar alejandro

Keep Working my friend for resolve this compatibily problem in windows 7 64 bit. For me it´s much better the twain drivers for the scanner Canon Lide 20 than VueScan.

Reply
gravatar lupo

Hi,

found that post after some long investigation on how to get my Canoscan N670U to work with Windows 7 Prof x64. I used your first idea. My computer now recognizes the scanner. But neither the Canon Toolbox nor Irfan View can find it as a twain source. Am I doing anything wrong? I’m using the Canoscan Toolbox 4.9 and I used the latest version of Vuescan. Which I completely removed, after the driverinstallation (I even deleted c:/vuescan).

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

With the Nikon the software I used was Nikon’s own software, which found the scanner fine. I’m not sure why you’re not getting twain access – VueScan does provide a twain driver. What is your scanner identified as in device manager? If you click on the driver tab and driver details button what files are versions are listed there?

Reply
gravatar lupo

Hey there, thanks for your fast response 🙂
It’s being identified as Canon LiDE20, which in fact used the same drivers as the N670U in former windows-versions. It says, that the Scanner is working fine.
On the first page of properties it says:
Manufacturer: not available
Model: Cano Scan
Modelnumber: not available
Category: Scanner
Description: not available

On the page “Hardware” it says:
Manufacturer: Hamrick Software

If I click on Properties->Drivers:
Drivermanufacturer: Hamrick Software
Driverdate: 11.01.1999
Driverversion: 1.0.0.0

On Details it says:
Driverfiles:
C:\Windows\system32\drivers\ksthunk.sys
C:\Windows\system32\drviers\usbscan.sys

I hope I translated everything right, because my windows is in german language. If not, I hope you understand everything I wrote, otherwise feel free to ask, my english isn’t that good 😉

Thanks in forward for your help!

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

I wonder if it’s possible to rehack the drivers to work with a LiDE20 as well as LiDE50. Can you send me the hardware ID for the scanner? It should look something like “%LPTENUMCNQL25.DeviceDesc%=CNQL25Install,USBVID_04A9&PID_2220” – its found in device manager, device properties, details tab, and in the pull-down box change from “description” to “hardware IDs”. I’ll see if it’s possible to hack something together

Reply
gravatar lupo

Wow, that would be simply amazing! Okay, I think I’ve found the information you asked for. There are two IDs:

USB\VID_04A9&PID_220D&REV_0100
USB\VID_04a9&PID_220D

Again, thanks in advance! 🙂

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

OK. No promises yet, but give this a try for me and let me know how you get on.
ftp://anonymous@diymediahome.org:anon@ftp.diymediahome.org/DIYMH_Canon_LiDE20_x64_Driver.7z
Use them as per the instructions for option 2 above – so install them via device manager and then install the canon canoscan toolbox for vista x32 (from http://files.canon-europe.com/files/soft25829/Software/s7117ENx.exe). If it seems to work check that it is using the correct scanner area – it might not be

Reply
gravatar lupo

Hey there,

again, thank you very much! 🙂
I did it as you told me and the devicemanager still says, that it’s a Lide 20. When I start Canoscan Toolbox, it says, there would be a Lide 50. When I try so start scanning it says: “Cannot communicate with scanner. Cable my be disconnected or scanner my be turned off. Check status. Scanner driver will be closed.”
Well, the scanner is connected, so it should work. Any ideas?

Greetz

Reply
gravatar lupo

When I clicked Ok there, there appears another message:

“Unable to open TWAIN source. Please check connecten. Then re-start Toolbox.”

Reply
gravatar lupo

Hello again,

I’ve got some bad news 🙁
With your 2nd version of the driver, I get the same error as with the 1st version.
When I try your 3rd idea and tell the device manager to install the driver, it says, that there isn’t any driver to work with my scanner.

Greetings

Reply
gravatar lupo

Hello again :),

version 3 is definitely one step forward!
This is what happened:
After I had installed the driver, the scanner startet making some noises, I think he calibrated itself? He did the same thing after the reboot again, that didn’t happen with the first two versions.
In Canoscan Toolbox I was able to chose between “CanoScan LiDE 20 11.0 (32-32)” and “CanoScan LiDE 50 1.1 (32-32)”. When I chose LiDE 50, the same thing happens as before. But when I chose LiDE 20, the scanner makes some noises again, when I open it, the scan-thing und er the glass turns on the blue light and moves like 5mms forward. Then I get the following message (canoscan as well as irfanview): First windows: “Cannot communicate with scanner. Cable may be disconnected or scanner my be turned off. Check status. Scanner driver will be closed.” When I click ok: “TWAIN error! Can’t connect to device or the TWAIN driver is not installed!”.
Again, thank you very much! 🙂

Reply
gravatar lupo

Btw, the light might also have another color, like white or something, I’m colorblind 😉

Reply
gravatar Progi1984

Hi, I have a Windows 7 x64 bits French, if you need an another Canon Canoscan Lide 20 for tests, i am there.

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Thanks Progi. And Lupo – thanks for your patience. I’ve exhausted the easy ways of trying to fix up a driver, so now I’m digging around trying to find another way. I’ve got a very busy week next week but a couple of weeks holiday after that, so hopefully I’ll get back to you in the next 2 weeks. Sorry it isn’t sooner.

Reply
gravatar lupo

No need to apologize 🙂 Thank you very much for the work you do and take your time. If you have anything ready for testing, just let me know =) Thanks again in advance! 🙂

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Ah, sorry – my fault. The bounce was for an “illegal attachment” – I didn’t know gmail didn’t allow exe files, even when inside archives? Will send again with a modified extension…

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Did you get my e-mail? Any luck with it?
I’ve finally found time for another look and have tried a few more things. I’m not terribly optimistic, but worth a try. (Note: this is different to what I e-mailed to you)… 4th attempt

Reply
gravatar Progi1984

Always the error “Unable to select twain device”… but now the scanner make some sounds like init.

Reply
gravatar Rene

Hi Jon,
thanks a lot for your efforts to get this LIDE scan­ners work­ing. Any good news? I have some of these Scan­ners here and tried to get V4 but the ftp link didnt work for me. Can you email please and i try to get it work­ing under w7/64?
Best regards and greet­ings from germany

Reply
gravatar lupo

Sorry, I did not click reply, my post is on top of the comments, but I don’t want to repost it 🙂

Reply
gravatar Ade D.R.

Hello! Recently, I just connected my Canon LiDE 20 on my new installed Win 7 64bit. I have scrolled up and down in this thread and the problem now is about can’t find the TWAIN source. Is there any hope or possibilty to fix that issue?

Thanks a lot before.

Reply