帖子分类: 杂项软件

0Ultrabook的笔记本电脑标志索尼VAIO蓝牙驱动程序索尼Vaio未知设备

我最近被要求看一下索尼Vaio VPCSB这是在每次Windows启动检测新硬件。该机器以其他方式运作良好。经检查,我发现有这似乎与蓝牙几个未知设备。我重新安装了最新的驱动程序从索尼网站,但此举未能清除未知设备。所搜寻的是......。. Read Full Article

0砖坯恢复的Adobe应用程序管理器更新

在最近更新的Cre-AT-IVE套房 6 的Adobe已经改变了应用程序管理器的功能。这用来发射相同的应用程序更新窗口中选择帮助时可用: 从任何Adobe应用程序内更新, 但现在启动一个登录窗口创意云, 这不是所有CS6用户都还是要的。一个简单的变化将有原来的功能恢复

Read Full Article

0MS Office徽标批量转换旧的MS Office文档

我一直试图理清一个巨大 (100+GB) 或者说,我已经内置了多年来的教学资源。之后,明显的步骤 (删除空, TEMP和重复的文件) 和排序的大文件 (e.g. 视频, 应用程序安装程序) 我留下了大量的办公文档。我慢慢地通过这些工作, 但很多都是 2003 甚至旧格式文件 - 一些老的字 6!  我每次打开这些文件时提示我输入各种安全警告之一。惠斯特这些可以被关闭 (见下文) 它是更安全离开他们, 我想所有的文件转换办公室 2007 (DOCX, XLSX等) 格式。批量转换肯定是要走的路.

Read Full Article

6Microsoft Office Excel中 2010条件格式年级v目标

所以, 在我的其他生命我其实是一名科学教师, 并且,往往会让一轮我“好了电脑”我通常会问到有没有看看几件事情。两次在过去的几个月中,我一直在问我是否愿意设立条件格式在Excel相比,他们的目标产品用颜色标记学生的考试成绩。虽然不完全与这个网站的核心内容, 它还是 DIY tech­nic­al help so I decided to pub­lish a full set of instruc­tions here. Enjoy…

Read Full Article

0工人物语II复活一个很老的帖子: VGA修复了定居 2

由于在下载页面上的意见通过DHD的请求, 我决定去翻翻我的旧网站的备份。下面是一个贴我写身边 2003/04 有关如何解决问题与运行游戏定居 2 在Windows XP上。我敢肯定的黯然新版本的Windows同样不会工作, 但对于那些XP用户仍然在那里谁想要发挥你的 (非常) 移民的旧副本 2 - 请享用…

Read Full Article

0AMD VISION融合Premium徽标固定: AMD E350崩溃 & 无效的引导设备错误

我已经一年多了AMD的E350系统的, 我为我的主要用途 HTPC. 可是, 在这段时间我一直ocasional稳定性问题,其中系统将锁定, 重启, 并没有找到原发 硬盘. 起初,我把这个下到 硬盘 - 西格行动的Momentus XT的, 这被称为是不可靠的,当它第一次发布. 由于希捷但是发布的更新固件的驱动器似乎经营的罚款, 虽然我不能排除这种可能性. 我也更新了 BIOS 我的华硕E35M1-M Pro和更新的所有驱动程序,我能找到, 不完全RESOLV-ing的问题.

Read Full Article

Posts Categorised: Misc Software

0Ultrabook logo laptop vaio sonyBluetooth drivers for Sony Vaio unknown device

I was recently asked to look at a Sony Vaio VPCSB which was detecting new hardware on every Windows boot.  The machine was otherwise working well.  Upon inspection I discovered that there were several unknown devices which seemed to be related to Bluetooth.  I reinstalled the latest drivers from the Sony website but this failed to clear the unknown devices.  The search was on…… Read Full Article

0adobeRestoring Adobe Application Manager updates

In a recent update to Creative Suite 6 Adobe have changed the functionality of the Application Manager.  This used to launch the same Application Updates window that is available when selecting Help: Updates from within any Adobe App, but it now launches a login window for Creative Cloud, which not all CS6 users have or want.  A simple change will have the original functionality restored

Read Full Article

0MS Office LogoBatch convert old MS Office documents

I’ve been trying to sort out an enormous (100+GB) or teaching resources that I’ve built-up over the years.  After the obvious steps (deleting empty, temp and duplicated files) and sorting the big files (e.g. videos, application installers) I was left with a large number of office documents.  I am slowly working through these, but many of them are 2003 or even older format documents – some as old as Word 6!  Every time I open one of these files I am prompted with various security warnings.  Whist these can be turned off (see below) it is more secure to leave them on, and I wanted to convert all the files to office 2007 (docx, xlsx etc) formats.  Batch conversion was definitely the way to go.

Read Full Article

6Microsoft Office Excel 2010Conditional formatting for grades v targets

So, in my other life I’m actually a science teacher, and as it usually gets round that I’m “good with computers” I usually get asked to have a look at a few things.  Twice in the last few months I’ve been asked if I’d set up conditional formatting in excel to colour code student test results compared to their target grades.  Whilst not exactly related to the core content of this site, it is still DIY technical help so I decided to publish a full set of instructions here.  Enjoy…

Read Full Article

0Settlers IIResurrecting a very old post: VGA fix for Settlers 2

Thanks to a request by dhd in a comment on the downloads page, I decided to go looking through backups of my old websites.  Below is a posted I wrote around 2003/04 about how to fix problems with running the game Settlers 2 on Windows XP.  I’m pretty certain the same wont work on newer versions of Windows sadly, but for those XP users still out there who want to play your (very) old copy of Settlers 2 – enjoy…

Read Full Article

0AMD Vision Fusion Premium LogoFixed: AMD E350 crashes & invalid boot device error

I’ve had an AMD E350 system for over a year, which I use as my primary HTPC. However, in that time I’ve always had ocasional stability issues where the system would lock up, reboot, and fail to find the primary HDD. At first I put this down to the HDD – a Seagate Momentus XT, which was known to be unreliable when it was first released. Since Seagate released update firmware however the drive has seemed to operate fine, although I couldn’t rule it out. I also updated the BIOS of my Asus E35M1-M Pro and updated all the drivers I could find, without fully resolving the issue.

Read Full Article

21Windows Icons: Full list with details, locations & images

Good quality icons and images, especially ones with an alpha transparency can be time consuming to make, and are often also hard to find.  One source of lots of high quality icons in a range of sizes is Windows.  Windows 7 includes lots of icons which can be useful as the majority are available in sizes from 16×16 up to 256×256, and come with alpha transparency.  You may have noticed that we use some on our downloads page – they’re handy to quickly indicate file type. Windows stores most of its icons inside exe and dll files which makes them inaccessible to standard image manipulation applications like Photoshop.  However, once they have been located they can easily be extracted with the freeware utility IcoFX. Tracking some of them down seems to be the trickier part. Below is a quick reference for the locations of many of the icons available on Windows 7. I will periodically add more details and any extra icon libraries I discover to this list.
Read Full Article

0dosboxRunning 16bit Windows apps on Windows 7

Whilst setting up a new laptop with Windows 7 x64 recently, I was asked if I could get some old 16bit programs running.  One of these was an educational piece of software called “Multimedia Motion II” by Cambridge Science Media.  This is a windows program that has worked on all previous versions of windows up to windows XP.  However, Windows 7 x64 no longer supports 16bit Windows programs, and instead throws the error about being an “Unsupported 16-bit application”… Read Full Article