2为什么Linux将永远是主流

这篇文章的标题恰如点击诱饵, 但事实并非本意. 我刚刚相反,它听起来就像点击诱饵比咆哮,这真的是.


让我说,我现在开始运行 2 基于Unix的系统, 一个基于Linux VPS (运行此网站) 在家里一个基于BSD的防火墙区. 我已经写了约两个好几遍了. 在这两种情况下,我运行这些* nix中基础的系统,因为我相信在使用最好的工具的工作, 但我还是有些舍不得下手,我仍经常发现他们减少我骂. 我教了一个真正的青少年工作, 但我发现了* nix中基础的系统我的事业我大得多的刺激和挫折操作. 让我用一个最近的例子阐述...

我最近成立了一个pfsense的框作为家用路由器 (因为我写的关于 21ST 十一月). 后 5 手术成功的日子,网络接口劝我,有可用的更新 2.4.1 to 2.4.2. 有安装在Web界面,我选择使用更新选项. 更新前后花了 60 几秒即可完成安装和系统,然后宣布将重启和Web界面将刷新 90 秒. 后 90 秒,系统仍然没有响应, 尽管我对等待 20 分钟仍然没有从盒子响应. 有了相当大的挫折我拔掉盒子,它移动到房间,我有一个显示器和键盘, 连接起来并上电时, 期待与一些问题 知识产权 与LAN口分配地址或. 我被过于乐观.

相反,我被迎面而来的引导程序宣布它无法找到“loader.efi”. 事实上有,我会通常与驱动器故障或损坏关联的潜在有用的信息序列, 包括“ZFS没有发现池”。, “没有可引导分区发现”, “无法读取启动/ loader.efi的大小”, “无法加载loader.efi”和事我不能准确地记住了恐慌. 我试着用搜索引擎 (通过我的手机) 这些一系列的短语,但一些没有结果出来了在所有, 和其他人似乎是开放源代码输出错误想出了, 但没有别的.

这是在我开始诅咒系统的点 - 由于某种原因,很多人的态度似乎是,如果你不能自行解决 - 的“没有帮助”是* nix系统的僵硬常见的一个问题你太愚蠢到被允许使用他们的“上级”系统. 我这样说,并不意味着官方开发者, 我的意思是用户的全球社区. 刚刚尝试在Windows系统上使用Google的引导分区的问题,你会发现数以百万计的第10条的, 导游, 帖子, 公用事业和更多的所有产品,以帮助, 并且虽然它有时需要一些涉水而过, 通常有一些作品. 有了* nix中你可能也不会理会,甚至谷歌搜索, 你会发现要么无人接听, 或者你会发现一个帖子里其他人问及被嘲笑, 要么 (最好的情况下,!) 你会找到答案,所以不可破译的,你必须再花 3 天阅读以了解如何理解答案. 这种状况是会是可笑的,如果它是不是事实,你基于* NIX系统通常做一些重要的事情,你需要解决它PDQ, 因此,我认为这种情况是可悲和可鄙.

到目前为止那么糟糕, 但它并没有得到更好的. 我最终放弃了在“固定”的问题,并决定我只是做一个完全重新安装,以尽快让事情恢复正常运行前,我的妻子开始抱怨完全缺乏互联网接入. 我发现有可能从以前恢复的设置文件安装,我安装过程中选择该选项可在安装. 我提供一个选择哪个分区的,我想恢复从文件. 我不知道哪个分区它位于, and (毫不奇怪) 谷歌搜索被证明是浪费时间. 我想我会随便挑一个分区,看看发生了什么. 屏幕闪现很简单,安装提供继续. 不确定,如果闪光灯曾透露成功还是失败,我决定重新启动系统并再试一次, 只是这一次我用手机拍摄的画面,这样我可以实际读取消息. 不必做这本身就证明还更可悲的愚蠢 - 如果显示它有什么好处的消息如此简单,没有人可以阅读?

我的手机挂羊头卖狗肉是成功的,我能够读取消息. 我选择了错误的分区, 但安装程序已经找遍了所有分区,发现设置文件反正. 这引出了一个问题 - 什么是点要求我选择一个分区,如果你再要寻找反正他们都? 然而,更多的愚蠢的行为, 但至少设置文件被成功定位. 然后,我这是成功的进行安装,做恢复设置为希望. 这一切的最终结局是,经过约 3 无奈小时,我能要回一个工作系统, 但由于没有从任何人的任何帮助, 而从开发商的每一步 (选项恢复设置) 曾经有 2 后面的步骤 (无法读取信息, 不得不选择一个分区,然后将其忽略).

整个体验带我回到Windows的坏日子 95 - 这往往失败的原因意外, 需要重新安装. How­ever, 几件事情实际上使本作的Windows更情有可原 95 - 首先,有没有在世界的方式万维网早在90年代中期真多, 其次是在 20 年前和技术应该是从那时起已经移动了! 最重要的 - 即使没有网络, 从其他人的帮助的Windows更容易得的 95 当时这是* nix的现在, 的情况下,这不可原谅.

为了避免这种情况的文章仅仅是一个咆哮我曾尝试包括尽可能多的我,希望它可以帮助其他人遇到的“谷歌捶”短语. 我会尽力写出所有我遇到的问题和管理的方式我* nix系统,以解决尽可能接近. 我希望 (但是不要抱太大的希望) 那这种经历的荒谬将更多的* nix的社区逐渐黎明和,在将来会有的想法和建议,更高效,支持共享, 因为如果没有这个, 有没有办法,* nix中永远不会达到主流验收.

请通过下面的评论给我们你的想法! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

2 条评论

的gravatarBLVKOBLSK

I know this is a some­what old post, and while I.understand your frus­tra­tion at the events that unfol­ded — I wouldn’t neces­sar­ily blame the 操作系统 entirely on not find­ing the boot par­ti­tion upon reboot. While I’m sure it could very well hap­pen to the best of us; such boxes can lit­er­ally go weeks, months and some times years without need­ing to reboot and that par­ti­tion could very well have been erased on acci­dent (far fetched I know, but things hap­pen) weeks before hav­ing anoth­er reboot and bam. EFI is gone.

It also could very well be a hard­ware issue (as an example), but *nix based 操作系统’s have proven sol­id for dec­ades. Linux is still fairly young com­pared.

Any­how… There are tons of info out there on repair­ing boot par­ti­tions, I guess people just need to think out­side the box. OSX is a branch of BSD for example and such info can be used visa versa in many ways.

Seems strange that PFSense would need a full reboot of the sys­tem verses killing it then a.terminal refresh.

干杯.

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

Cheers for tak­ing the time to share your thoughts! If a few more people did that in the *nix world things would be much bet­ter. Since this art­icle I have had no fur­ther prob­lems with my pfsense box, although there has only been 1 update since which I installed via the com­mand line / SSH.

回复

0Why linux will never be mainstream

The title of this art­icle almost reads like click-bait, but that isn’t the inten­tion. I’d just rather it soun­ded like click-bait than the rant that it really is.


Let me start by say­ing that I cur­rently run 2 unix-based sys­tems, a linux-based VPS (that runs this site) and a BSD-based fire­wall box at home. I’ve writ­ten about both sev­er­al times already. In both cases I run these *nix based sys­tems as I believe in using the best tool for the job, but I was some­what reluct­ant to start with and I still reg­u­larly find they reduce me to curs­ing. I teach teen­agers for a real job, but I find the *nix based sys­tems I oper­ate cause me vastly more irrit­a­tion and frus­tra­tion. Let me elab­or­ate with a recent example…

I recently set up a pfsense box as a home router (as I wrote about on 21st Novem­ber). After 5 days of suc­cess­ful oper­a­tion that web inter­face advised me that there was an update avail­able from 2.4.1 to 2.4.2. There was an option to install the update from the web inter­face which I opted to use. The update took around 60 seconds to install and the sys­tem then announced it was reboot­ing and the web inter­face would refresh in 90 seconds. After 90 seconds the sys­tem was still not respons­ive, and des­pite my wait­ing about 20 minutes there was still no response from the box. With con­sid­er­able frus­tra­tion I unplugged the box and moved it into the room where I have a mon­it­or and key­board, con­nec­ted it up and powered up, expect­ing some issue with the IP address or with the alloc­a­tion of the LAN ports. I was being far too optim­ist­ic.

Instead I was greeted by the boot­load­er announ­cing that it was unable to find “loader.efi”. In fact there was a sequence of poten­tially use­ful inform­a­tion that I would nor­mally asso­ci­ate with a drive fail­ure or cor­rup­tion, includ­ing “ZFS found no pools”, “no boot­able par­ti­tions found”, “failed to read size of boot/loader.efi”, “failed to load loader.efi” and some­thing I can’t remem­ber pre­cisely about a pan­ic. I tried googling (via my phone) a series of these phrases but some came up with no res­ults at all, and oth­ers came up with what appeared to be the open source code that out­puts the errors, but noth­ing else.

This was the point at which I star­ted to curse the sys­tem — the prob­lem of “no help” is an infuri­at­ingly com­mon one with *nix sys­tems — for some reas­on the atti­tude of many people seems to be that if you can’t solve it your­self you’re too dumb to be allowed to use their “super­i­or” sys­tems. By this I don’t mean the offi­cial developers, I mean the glob­al com­munity of users. Just try googling for a boot par­ti­tion prob­lem on a win­dows sys­tem and you will find 10’s of mil­lions of art­icles, guides, posts, util­it­ies and more all offer­ing to help, and whilst it some­times takes some wad­ing through, there is nor­mally some­thing that works. With *nix you might as well not both­er even googling, you’ll either find no answer, or you’ll find a post where someone else has asked and been sneered at, or (best case!) you’ll find an answer so unde­cipher­able that you have to spend anoth­er 3 days read­ing to learn how to under­stand the answer. This state of affairs is would be laugh­able if it wasn’t for the fact that you *nix based sys­tem is usu­ally doing some­thing import­ant and you need to fix it PDQ, and con­sequently I think this situ­ation is pathet­ic and con­tempt­ible.

So far so bad, but it doesn’t get bet­ter. I even­tu­ally gave up on “fix­ing” the prob­lem and decided I’d just do a full rein­stall to get things back up and run­ning as quickly as pos­sible before my wife star­ted com­plain­ing about the total lack of Inter­net access. I dis­covered that it is pos­sible to restore the set­tings file from a pre­vi­ous install dur­ing install­a­tion that I chose this option dur­ing install­a­tion. I was offered a choice of which par­ti­tion I wanted to restore the file from. I didn’t know which par­ti­tion it was loc­ated on, and (no sur­prise) googling proved a waste of time. I figured I’d just pick a par­ti­tion and see what happened. The screen flashed very briefly and install­a­tion offered to con­tin­ue. Unsure if the flash had revealed suc­cess or fail­ure I decided to reboot the sys­tem and try again, only this time I used my phone to film the screen so that I could actu­ally read the mes­sage. Hav­ing to do this in itself demon­strates yet more pathet­ic stu­pid­ity — what good is a mes­sage if it is dis­played so briefly that no human can read it?

My phone trick­ery was suc­cess­ful and I was able to read the mes­sage. I had chosen the wrong par­ti­tion, but the installer had searched all of the par­ti­tions and found the set­tings file any­way. This begs the ques­tion — what is the point in ask­ing me to choose a par­ti­tion if you’re then going to search all of them any­way? Yet more stu­pid beha­viour, but at least the set­tings file was suc­cess­fully loc­ated. I then pro­ceeded with the install­a­tion which was suc­cess­ful and did restore the set­tings as hoped. The even­tu­al upshot of all this was that after about 3 hours of frus­tra­tion I was able to get back to a work­ing sys­tem, but no thanks to any help from any­one else, and for every step for­ward from the developers (option to recov­er set­tings) there were 2 steps back (can’t read the mes­sage, had to select a par­ti­tion which was then ignored).

The whole exper­i­ence took me back to the bad old days of Win­dows 95 — which often failed for unex­pec­ted reas­ons, requir­ing rein­stall­a­tion. How­ever, sev­er­al things actu­ally make this more excus­able for Win­dows 95 — firstly there wasn’t really much in the way of a world wide web back in the mid 1990’s, and secondly it was over 20 years ago and tech­no­logy is sup­posed to have moved on since then! Most import­antly — even without the web, help from oth­er people was easi­er to come by for Win­dows 95 back then that it is for *nix now, a situ­ation that it unfor­giv­able.

To avoid this art­icle being just a rant I have tried to include as many of the “google whack” phrases I encountered in the hope that it may help oth­er people. I will endeav­our to write up all of the prob­lems I encounter and man­age to solve with my *nix sys­tems in a way that is as access­ible as pos­sible. I wish (but don’t hold out much hope) that the ridicu­lous­ness of this sort of exper­i­ence will gradu­ally dawn on more of the *nix com­munity and that in the future there will be more pro­duct­ive and sup­port­ive shar­ing of ideas and advice, because without this, there is no way that *nix will ever achieve main­stream accept­ance.

Got some thoughts of your own? Indulge yourself below by commenting! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply