0优化WAN MTU的BT无限

因为从我的BT SmartHub切换到pfsense路由器我有一些很小的问题. 其中之一已经造成,我不能有错误访问BBC网站的问题squid代理服务. 虽然我并最终通过一个稍微奇怪的方法解决这个问题, 我所遇到的问题的可能来源,值得固定在它自己的


当我打开过的鱿鱼我立刻能够访问BBC网站, 但它开启我一贯收到一个错误鱿鱼曾有过一个“零大小回复”. 这似乎鱿鱼是无法得到从BBC的任何回复. 这方面的一个可能的原因是分段的数据包被丢弃, 和破碎的原因通常为MTU大小.

以太网的默认的MTU是 1500 和大多数现代操作系统在局域网上自动管理的事情. 它可以使用尺寸高达 9000 增加吞吐量 (略) 对于LAN. 然而, 这是不感兴趣的我不是进行确认的数据包并没有获得分段多次, 或离开后,路由器的碎片化.

随着pfsense 广域网 MTU设置为默认 (1500) 我尝试了一些从Windows ping命令,看看有什么最大尺寸是没有碎片. 使用的命令是 ping google.com -f -l 1500, 改变的最后一个号码找到最佳. 我的BT无限连接使用PPPoE通常具有的最大值 1492 (实际上它可能是真正使用它的PPPoA我桥接调制解调器可呈现PPPoE来pfsense, 不同消息来源说,这个不同的事), 并使用ping时,既要考虑到一些开销,这具有的价值 28, 所以我期待的ping MTU 1464 是最大的,我可以用. 令我吃惊,这仍然导致分裂和我终于找到我可以使用最大为 1456.

我用这个值 (同 28 加了回去) 设定的MTU值 1484 在里面 广域网 pfsense的接口设置. 现在唯一的碎片应该由路由器LAN数据包进行, 任何后来碎片从路由器的地方我和任何特定网站之间没有任何风险. 清除浏览器缓存和squid缓存后,我当时能够成功加载BBC网站. 我怀疑问题是由路由器blackholing问题的地方之间引起了我 ISP 和BBC服务器,这些服务器被丢弃数据包碎片. 现象一个很好的说明上可以找到 RCL的博客

认为我们已经错过了什么? 让我们通过下面的评论知道. 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

0Optimising WAN MTU for BT Infinity

Since switch­ing from my BT SmartHub to a pfsense router I’ve had a few minor teeth­ing prob­lems. One of which has been the squid proxy ser­vice caus­ing a prob­lem where I can’t access the BBC web­site with an error. Whilst I did even­tu­ally fix this through a slightly strange meth­od, I encountered a pos­sible source of the prob­lem which was worth fix­ing on it’s own


When I turned squid off I was imme­di­ately able to access the BBC web­site, but with it turned on I con­sist­ent received an error from squid that there had been a “Zero Sized Reply”. It seemed squid was unable to get any reply from the BBC. One pos­sible cause of this could be frag­men­ted pack­ets being dropped, and the cause of frag­ment­a­tion is nor­mally MTU size.

The default MTU for Eth­er­net is 1500 and most mod­ern oper­at­ing sys­tems man­age things on the LAN auto­mat­ic­ally. It is pos­sible to use sizes up to 9000 to increase through­put (slightly) for the LAN. How­ever, this was of less interest to me than mak­ing sure pack­ets weren’t get­ting frag­men­ted mul­tiple times, or being frag­men­ted after leav­ing the router.

With the pfsense WAN MTU set to default (1500) I tried some pinging from win­dows to see what the max­im­um size was without frag­ment­a­tion. The com­mand to use is ping google.com -f -l 1500, chan­ging the last num­ber to find the optim­um. My BT Infin­ity con­nec­tion uses PPPoE which typ­ic­ally has a max­im­um value of 1492 (it may in fact really use PPPoA which my bridged modem can present as PPPoE to pfsense, dif­fer­ent sources say dif­fer­ent things about this), and when using ping it is neces­sary to take into account some over­head which has a value of 28, so I was expect­ing a ping MTU of 1464 to be the largest I could use. To my sur­prise this still res­ul­ted in frag­ment­a­tion and I even­tu­ally found the max­im­um I could use was 1456.

I used this value (with 28 added back on) to set a MTU value of 1484 in the WAN inter­face set­tings of pfsense. Now the only frag­ment­a­tion should be done by the router to LAN pack­ets, with no risk of any later frag­ment­a­tion from a router some­where between me and any par­tic­u­lar web­site. After clear­ing my browser cache and the squid cache I was then able to load the BBC web­site suc­cess­fully. I sus­pect the issue was caused by a router black­hol­ing issue some­where between my ISP and the BBC serv­ers which was drop­ping the frag­men­ted pack­ets. A nice descrip­tion of the phe­nomen­on can be found on RCL’s Blog

Please send us your thoughts by commenting below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply