帖子分类: 存储

0谷歌照片同步限制

谷歌推出了一个新的工具来替代驱动同步和备份照片.  新的应用程序, 所谓 备份和同步 同时提供的功能在一个单一的应用程序.  它还声称要同步的文件夹作为相册的照片, 一些以前的备份应用程序没有做.  但是仍然有一些限制.

Read Full Article

0内部硬盘徽标克隆系统盘

在我的节日技术支持回中的下一个任务是升级我的老男人的笔记本电脑 硬盘 到一个新的 固态硬盘. 在过去,这种升级通常都涉及其他组件和必要全新安装的Windows, 但这种升级是一个组成部分, 到Windows 7 个人计算机, 我决定时机已经成熟,克隆旧的驱动器到新的可能性重新调查
Read Full Article

0存储空间微软的存储空间: 虚拟RAID适用于Windows 8?

微软的 史蒂夫西诺夫斯基 写了有关Windows的真正令人兴奋的新功能的详细文章 8 - 存储空间。我这里就不再赘述细节, 对于那些你可以直接去马口。不过,我会从一个家庭媒体服务器点指出一个重点线: “还有一个弹性属性, 所谓 平价, 其指导的存储空间来存储一些冗余信息一起包含在空间内的用户数据, 从而能够自动重建数据在物理磁盘故障的情况下,”对我, 这听起来像一个软件很多RAID5类似于所提供 UnRAID.  直到视窗 8 被释放,该技术全面审查的细节当然有些投机性的, 但我的文章的阅读使我相信,存储空间将使磁盘条带化, 在单磁盘故障的情况下奇偶校验。进一步, 它是合理的假设,该系统将与标准的非企业级硬盘工作而无需受到任何 兼容性问题.  最后, 它是合理的假设,存储空间会提供一些硬件RAID-5的性能优势了。如果你有很多媒体的家庭服务器和你想要一些冗余, 没有巨大的成本, 那么这项技术听起来可能是完美的解决方案。由于微软!

0DVB逻辑规划一个新的联网家庭媒体设置

在未来的几个月里,我会买一个新的属性, 并去与我的新家, 我一直在阅读了很多关于如何我可能会集成一个新的家庭媒体设置。在最近几个月一些令人兴奋的新选择变得可用, 这最终使得那种设置的我​​一直期望的一种现实的可能性。... Read Full Article

1内部硬盘徽标硬件RAID和消费者的硬盘问题

以前我几年是幸运的,足有购买二手硬件RAID机会 5 卡 (一个槟榔 1220) 一个非常低的价格. 从那时起,我拥有多套驱动器所使用的卡一起 (原本300gig, 然后750gig目前1Tb的) 在一个专用的服务器PC作为一个大的网络文件的存储,为家庭的音乐, 照片, 视频和后备.
Read Full Article

0内部硬盘徽标加快媒体浏览器

在Hack7MC的一篇文章引起了我的眼睛几个月前, 但我才刚刚得到周围就可以跟进. 这个想法是由它的库迁移到低价加快Media Center中的媒体浏览器插件 USB 闪存驱动器, 它希望提供比普通硬盘驱动器更好的性能. 我做的第一件事是在我的桌面硬盘驱动器上测试我拥有的几个基于闪存的设备......
Read Full Article

0内部硬盘徽标加快固态硬盘, 尤其是在上网本

我最近升级了 固态硬盘 在华硕EeePC 901, 而同时尺寸和性能均较好, 性能提升仍然没有看齐甚至 5+ 岁的笔记本电脑 硬盘. 与大多数固态硬盘的问题, 尤其是便宜的, 是,他们通常有小文件写入性能很差. 这可以使窗户非常缓慢,有时反应迟钝.
Read Full Article

0内部硬盘徽标升级eeePC 901中的SSD

我最近被要求升级 固态硬盘 驱动在华硕EeePC 901. 而不是写它在这里详细的我只想说,这次行动是无痛的,取得了巨大成功, 主要是由于在提供优秀导游 BitTech

我更换了默认的4gig 固态硬盘 (离开16gig一个完整) 有从易趣费用£43类似的速度16gig驱动

Posts Categorised: Storage

0Inside HDD LogoCloning a system disk

The next job on my festive technical support rounds was to upgrade my old man’s laptop HDD to a new SSD. In the past such upgrades have usually involved other components and necessitated a fresh install of windows, but with this upgrade being just one component, to a Windows 7 PC, I decided time was ripe for a fresh investigation of the possibility of cloning the old drive onto the new
Read Full Article

0Storage SpacesMicrosoft Storage Spaces: Virtual RAID for Windows 8?

Microsoft’s Steve Sinofsky has written a detailed article about a genuinely exciting new feature of Windows 8 – Storage Spaces.  I won’t repeat the details here, for those you can go straight to the horses mouth.  However I will point out a key line from a home media server point of view: “There’s another resiliency attribute, called parity, which directs Storage Spaces to store some redundancy information alongside user data contained within the space, thereby enabling automatic data reconstruction in the event of physical disk failure.”  To me, this sounds a LOT like a software RAID5 similar to that provided by UnRAID.  Until Windows 8 is released and the technology is fully reviewed the details are of course somewhat speculative, but my reading of the article leads me to believe that Storage Spaces will enable the striping of disks, with a parity in the event of single disk failure.  Further, it is reasonable to assume that this system will work with standard non-enterprise drives without suffering any compatibility issues.  Finally, it is reasonable to assume that Storage Spaces will offer some of the performance benefits of hardware raid-5 too.  If you have a home server with a lot of media and you want some redundancy, without huge cost, then this technology sounds like it might be the perfect solution.  Thanks Microsoft!

0DVB LogicPlanning a new networked home media setup

In the coming months I will be buying a new property, and to go with my new home, I’ve been reading up lots on how I might integrate a new home media setup.  In recent months several exciting new options have become available, which finally makes the sort of setup I have always desired a real possibility…. Read Full Article

0Inside HDD LogoDisk Speeds

Since a post about a year ago where I compared the speed of several flash drives (for speeding up Media Browser) I’ve been keeping a track of the speed of various drives / devices.  As I’ll soon be obtaining quite a few new drives it seemed a good time to organise all the benchmarks and start a post with the data I’ve collected.
Read Full Article

1Inside HDD LogoHardware RAID and consumer HDD problems

A couple of years ago I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to purchase a second hand hardware raid 5 card (an Areca 1220) for a very low price. Since then I have used the card along with several sets of drives (originally 300gig, then 750gig and currently 1Tb) in a dedicated server PC as a large network file-store for the family’s music, photos, videos and back-ups.
Read Full Article

0Inside HDD LogoSpeeding up Media Browser

An article on Hack7MC caught my eye a couple of months ago, but I have only just got around to following up on it. The idea is to speed up the Media Browser plugin for Media Center by moving its library to a Cheap USB Flash drive, which hopefully offers much better performance than normal hard-disk drives. The first thing I did was test a couple of flash-based devices that I have against my desktop HardDrive…
Read Full Article

0Inside HDD LogoSpeed up SSDs, especially in netbooks

I recently upgraded the SSD in an Asus eeePC 901, and whilst the size and performance were both better, the performance upgrade still wasn’t on par with even a 5+ year old laptop HDD. The problem with most SSDs, especially the cheaper ones, is that they usually have very poor write performance with small files. This can make windows very sluggish and unresponsive at times.
Read Full Article

0Inside HDD LogoUpgrading the SSD in an eeePC 901

I’ve recently been asked to upgrade the SSD drive in an Asus eeePC 901. Rather than write about it in detail here I’ll just say that the operation was painless and a great success, mostly thanks to the excellent guide provided at BitTech

I replaced the default 4gig SSD (leaving the 16gig one intact) with a similar speed 16gig drive which cost £43 from ebay