文章标签: 窗 8

0Windows Media Center的家庭e标志获取媒体中心 8 免费

如果你有视窗 8 临, 并希望媒体中心添加到它,你需要从微软的关键。在未来这不会是免费的, 但你可以得到一个免费的,直到 31ST 一月 2013 得益于 微软报价.  我已经注册矿, 即使我不运行Windows 8 因为我可能要在将来使用它,为什么不!

阅读全文

0编解码器完整的编解码设置指南适用于Windows 7/8

双赢DOWS 8 完成并即将推出供零售. 考虑到这一点它似乎是一个很好的时间来写一个更新的指南,以设立一个全面运作越来越编解码器 HTPC 适用于Windows 7 and 8. 在本指南中,我使用HTML5的新功能,创建可扩展指令. 在写这篇的时间只有Chrome和Safari支持 6 但希望其他浏览器将在不久的将来增加支持.

阅读全文

3窗 8 商标如何恢复一个适当的用户界面到Windows 8 & 服务器 2012

双赢DOWS 8 和服务器 2012 现在RTMed和EXPEC - 泰德历久弥新 用户界面 桌面和开始菜单已经被替换为HOR-rible新 用户界面 (预VI - 显然所谓的地铁).  在他们的终极智慧,微软已经离开没有办法切换回原来的桌面/开始菜单系统, 但是由于各种调整和工具也能够得到 90% 恢复界面 - 好到可以完全可用。下面我文档所需的各个步骤和调整.

阅读全文

0窗 8 商标视窗 8: 修复开始菜单

所以, 双赢DOWS 8 是com-ing在七月下旬 (OCTO-BER零售CUS-TOM-ERS).  没有任何迹象表明微软将手软提供一个选项来切换回Windows的 7 开始菜单, 而是将迫使HOR-rible地铁新旧交替 在每一个人。因此,许多人会坚持无疑相当愉快地与Windows 7, 操作方法曾经有 2 的reas项,以用Win-DOWS 8: 被迫,因为它会在所有新 电脑 很快就和改进,包括性能提升和新stor-年龄空间 功能在其他之中。如果你属于这两种阵营,但, 像我这样的, 无法忍受地铁, 有比我现在可以更多的选择上次写 关于这个问题.

阅读全文

0窗 8 商标视窗 8250 消费者预览: 传统的开始菜单

双赢DOWS 8 看起来有很多不错的新功能, 但遗憾的是, 正如我在以前的文章中提到, 微软已经决定建立一个手机/平板电脑的用户界面,以及强加给它在桌面用户。这不会是这样一个问题,如果微软已经留下了一个选项,打开出色和完善的传统接口回, 但在他们无穷的智慧微软尚未提供任何这样的选择。幸运的是, 2 为让传统的开始按钮和菜单选项回.

阅读全文

19窗 8 商标视窗 8: 可怕可怕可怕的Metro UI

行, 我怀疑标题是要送人。我下载了Windows 8 8250 今天con-苏美尔前期观点, 几乎IMME - 二ately实时ISED的,因为它代表我会避免双赢DOWS 8 像瘟疫。至于我有关 用户界面 改变电流rently使双赢DOWS 8 的双赢DOWS有史以来最糟糕的释放 (甚至不如双赢DOWS ME!)

阅读全文

0存储空间微软的存储空间: 虚拟RAID适用于Windows 8?

微软的 史蒂夫西诺夫斯基 写了有关Windows的真正令人兴奋的新功能的详细文章 8 - 存储空间。我这里就不再赘述细节, 对于那些你可以直接去马口。不过,我会从一个家庭媒体服务器点指出一个重点线: “还有一个弹性属性, 所谓 平价, 其指导的存储空间来存储一些冗余信息一起包含在空间内的用户数据, 从而能够自动重建数据在物理磁盘故障的情况下,”对我, 这听起来像一个软件很多RAID5类似于所提供 UnRAID.  直到视窗 8 被释放,该技术全面审查的细节当然有些投机性的, 但我的文章的阅读使我相信,存储空间将使磁盘条带化, 在单磁盘故障的情况下奇偶校验。进一步, 它是合理的假设,该系统将与标准的非企业级硬盘工作而无需受到任何 兼容性问题.  最后, 它是合理的假设,存储空间会提供一些硬件RAID-5的性能优势了。如果你有很多媒体的家庭服务器和你想要一些冗余, 没有巨大的成本, 那么这项技术听起来可能是完美的解决方案。由于微软!

Posts Tagged: windows 8

0codecsComplete codec setup guide for Windows 7/8

Windows 8 is finished and will soon be available for retail sale. With that in mind it seemed a good time to write an updated guide to getting codecs set up for a fully operational HTPC for both Windows 7 and 8. For this guide I’m using a new feature of HTML5 which creates expandable instructions. At the time of writing this is only supported by chrome and safari 6 but hopefully other browsers will add support in the near future.

Read Full Article

3windows 8 logoHow to restore a proper UI to Windows 8 & Server 2012

Windows 8 and Server 2012 have now RTMed and as expected the good old UI of desktop and startmenu has been replaced with a horrible new UI (previously called Metro).  In their ultimate wisdom Microsoft have left no way to switch back to the old desktop/start menu system, but thanks to various tweaks and tools it is possible to get 90% of the interface restored – good enough to be fully usable.  Below I document the various steps and tweaks required.

Read Full Article

0windows 8 logoWindows 8: Fix the start menu

So, Windows 8 is coming in late July (October for retail customers).  There are no signs that Microsoft will relent provide an option to switch back to the Windows 7 start menu, and instead will force the horrible metro interface upon everyone.  As a result many of us will undoubtedly stick quite happily with Windows 7, however there are 2 reasons to use Windows 8: being forced to as it will come on all new PCs soon and for improvements including a performance increase and the new storage spaces feature amongst others.  If you fall into either of these camps but, like me, can’t stand metro, there are now more options available than when I last wrote about this issue.

Read Full Article

0windows 8 logoWindows 8250 consumer preview: Traditional start menu

Windows 8 looks to have many nice new features, but unfortunately, as I mentioned in a previous post, Microsoft has decided to create a phone/tablet user interface and foist it upon desktop users as well.  This wouldn’t be such a problem if Microsoft had left an option to turn the excellent and well established traditional interface back on, but in their infinite wisdom Microsoft hasn’t provided any such option.  Fortunately there are 2 options for getting the traditional start button and menu back.

Read Full Article

19windows 8 logoWindows 8: Horrible Horrible Horrible Metro UI

OK, I suspect the title is going to give it away.  I downloaded Windows 8 8250 consumer preview today, and almost immediately realised that as it stands I am going to avoid Windows 8 like the plague.  As far as I’m concerned the UI changes currently make Windows 8 the worst release of Windows ever (even worse than Windows ME!)

Read Full Article

0Storage SpacesMicrosoft Storage Spaces: Virtual RAID for Windows 8?

Microsoft’s Steve Sinofsky has written a detailed article about a genuinely exciting new feature of Windows 8 – Storage Spaces.  I won’t repeat the details here, for those you can go straight to the horses mouth.  However I will point out a key line from a home media server point of view: “There’s another resiliency attribute, called parity, which directs Storage Spaces to store some redundancy information alongside user data contained within the space, thereby enabling automatic data reconstruction in the event of physical disk failure.”  To me, this sounds a LOT like a software RAID5 similar to that provided by UnRAID.  Until Windows 8 is released and the technology is fully reviewed the details are of course somewhat speculative, but my reading of the article leads me to believe that Storage Spaces will enable the striping of disks, with a parity in the event of single disk failure.  Further, it is reasonable to assume that this system will work with standard non-enterprise drives without suffering any compatibility issues.  Finally, it is reasonable to assume that Storage Spaces will offer some of the performance benefits of hardware raid-5 too.  If you have a home server with a lot of media and you want some redundancy, without huge cost, then this technology sounds like it might be the perfect solution.  Thanks Microsoft!