11WindowsUpdate图标修复Windows更新或Service Pack错误 80073712

这是一年的时间了, 和往常一样, 当我参观过家庭圣诞节还有各种电脑问题需要解决。今年有几个幸好问题, 但有 1 问题是我花了相当长的时间来跟踪和解决。其中一个家庭 电脑 在故障ing到安装Win-DOWS 7 服务包1.这是一个相当新的PC,并与前来 OEM 安装了Win-DOWS 7 64位家庭高级版, 所有合法的和激活。它还具有了最新的防病毒保护, 并且比其他 SP1 安装问题,它似乎是在良好的工作秩序.

错误 80073712

抛出双赢DOWS更新错误为错误 80073712, 该协议,ing赢得-DOWS帮助 (and 微软帮助页面) “当Windows组件商店是腐败的发生”。微软提供了一个工具, 叫 SYS-TEM更新读我性工具 (KB947821) 它应该解决这个问题。我下载的工具,并运行它 (这花了相当长的时间), 在这之后成功报道。然后,我将重试 SP1 更新但它仍然失败.

经过进一步的研究,我发现这是一个一直困扰着这两个问题 32 and 64 位版本 - 本期开始的双赢DOWS, 自从Vista操作系统。这似乎影响到所有Service Pack版本 (KB936330, KB948465和KB976932) 因此,系统更新准备工具是适用于Windows Vista, 7, 2008 and 2008 R2。有很多无用的建议可用, 但实际的解决方法是相当简单, 只要你有相同的访问到另一台PC 操作系统 安装!  在我而言,我有我的笔记本电脑,我, 运行宁运-DOWS 7 x64的 SP1.  我不知道,如果HAV-ING SP1 可能有时做一个dif-FER-ENCE, 或者,如果有,而不是家庭高级版专业可有时也同样有所作为, 但对我来说,这些差异并不重要 - 我的解决方案的工作就好了。更多详细信息, 我发现微软技术 - 网络艺术ICLE“为诊断和修复服务腐败高级指引”非常有用.

解决方案

首先, 下载并安装系统更新准备工具。如果你幸运的话,这将只是解决问题的第一次。然而, 之前尝试ing的ser-副安装包, 我们要检查...

点击开始,然后在搜索框中键入“记事本%WINDIR%日志 CBS checksur.log”,打开准备工具的日志文件.

在文件的底部应该有一个总结,它看起来像

[代码LANG =“平原”]总结:
执行秒钟: 685
发现 2 错误
固定 2 错误[/码]

如果固定错误的数量是一样的发现,那么你应该排序号码 - 你现在可以先走一步,安装Service Pack或Windows更新是正常的。然而, 在我的情况是不是, 所以...

日志文件确定它不能修复任何文件。无法修复的文件是那些不存在的系统由于某种原因上。你需要从运行Windows相同版本的另一台电脑让他们

在日志文件中, 在所谓的“检查组件店”的部分将存在丢失或损坏的文件列表。我有 4 LIS-泰德如下...

[代码LANG =“平原”]amd64_policy.9.0.microsoft.vc90.atl_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4148_none_a9427d6be424cb66.manifest
amd64_10568c9df37e2a69df4103e1a1b191ca_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16695_none_33990b4ad429800c.manifest
LDDMCore.ptxml在Amd64_microsoft窗口lddmcore_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_07bd8a45fd3dcc23
LDDMCore.ptxml在Amd64_microsoft窗口lddmcore_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.20715_none_0892dc3716229fcb[/码]

玛尼巨星文件可以发现 (另一台PC上) 在%WINDIR% winsxs文件舱单及包含其他文件的文件夹在%WINDIR发现% winsxs文件

这个问题丢失的文件复制到电脑, 到以下位置

.清单文件到%WINDIR% TEMP CheckSUR WinSxS文件舱单
.妈妈和。cat文件到%WINDIR% TEMP CheckSUR 维修包装
从具有长名称的文件夹中的所有文件 (在我的情况下, 2 LDDMCore.ptxml文件) 进入在%WINDIR% winsxs文件的相应目录

这个最后的步骤可能需要采取所有权和改变有关目录的权限.

现在重新运行系统更新准备工具。一旦重新运行重复步骤 2 打开日志文件, 并确认摘要部分现在说修复的数量相匹配的问题数.

假设为修正值现在等于价值发现的问题, 您现在可以重新运行Service Pack或Windows更新, 它应该会成功.

接下来是什么

如果由于某种原因,你仍然有问题, 还有一些其他的东西,你可以尝试...

1. 运行Windows Update疑难解答

  • 点击开始, 输入“的故障排除”,然后按回车.
  • 在上点击打开控制面板窗口中的“修复与Windows更新问题”.
  • 注: 这适用于双赢DOWS 7, 但是精确的细节可以在其他系统不同.

2. 清除出双赢DOWS更新缓存...

  • 点击开始, 键入services.msc
  • 在SER-恶习管理器窗口, 向下滚动到“双赢DOWS更新”, 右键单击它, 然后单击停止.
  • 点击开始, 键入%windir% SoftwareDistribution
  • 选择所有文件并删除它们。如果有任何不会删除你可以把他们的所有权和更改权限, 或尝试再次以安全模式.
  • 重新从服务管理窗口中的“Windows更新”服务.
  • 重新运行Windows Update疑难解答

多余的东西,你可以试试

1. 磁盘检查

  • 这是相当不可能的, 但它可能是磁盘损坏
  • 打开我的电脑, 右键单击该系统驱动器上 (犹他州立大学,盟友驱动器C) 并选择属性
  • 单击工具选项卡上, 并点击“立即检查”
  • 确保两个框打勾,然后点击开始
  • 您将概率巧妙地重新启动, 而该支票可能需要很长的时间

2. 系统文件检查器

  • 点击开始, 键入sfc / scannow
  • 您可能需要安装,一个重刑盘
  • 这可能需要一段时间

3. 删除%WINDIR% winsxs文件的pending.xml文件

  • 点击开始, 键入%windir% winsxs文件
  • 向下滚动并禄,吃了文件pending.xml
  • 采取所有权和更改文件的权限
  • 删除文件
  • 信用为这 TyeGuy上TechArena论坛
  • 请注意,微软 不推荐使用修补这样做 (请参阅下面的COM,目, 感谢niemiro).  如果你已经不远了这一点,它仍然是不工作, 请给我们留言,我们将看看我们能做些什么来帮助!

不得已

获得双赢DOWS安装 - 一个重刑 DVD, 重新运行安装程序,并进行修复安装。你将不得不重新安装所有更新.

这有没有帮助你修复Windows更新错误?

查看住宅,ULTS

Loading ... 载入中...

请通过下面的评论给我们你的想法! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

11 条评论

的gravatar埃米利奥

我没有pending.xml文件
否则, 我所做的一切,除了重装操作系统, 和错误 80073712 persiste

回复
的gravatar卡洛斯Ķ.

这篇文章真的救了我的一天,但niemiro的意见 (和艺术icles和他KB_Extractor) 也埃森tial. 我终于没有另一个Windows 7 64安装与我所需要的文件,所以我必须确定, 下载并解压缩相应的Windows更新文件. 工作很多 - 尤其是点击密集许可变更部 - 但现在我终于安装服务包在我写这篇评论...谢谢! 🙂

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

一个认罪-URE. 感谢您的意见反馈. 我来看看更新的文章,包括链接到一些必要的文件. 审讯 ISO 的双赢DOWS图像 7 和新的安装盘,可以从微软下载直接, 所以这是概率干练的EASI-东部时间路线.

回复
的gravatar

男人, 非常感谢. 所有微软的东西对我没有帮助, 所以我很高兴我发现这个伟大的文章 - 我现在已经固定了一切.
天佑

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫


Niemiro:

Also, 你可能不太知道这些事, 你在这里概述了修复远不止0×80073712. 其实, 这将解决许多双赢DOWS更新错误, 包括前期阶段最常见的所有: 0x800B0100. 你可以很EAS-ILY, 如果你希望, 稍做调整作为一般CheckSUR.log固定导转载当. 你真的可以.

我很可能CON-Sider的这样做,. 除非你想编写一个客户后? 或者甚至一个完整的指南? 我不希望在自己的网站的脚趾踩虽然 - 如果你已经有了一个完整的指导自己我很高兴,只是挂靠 - 信贷,这是由于毕竟

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

感谢您的信息! 您链接到文章实际上是有关编辑pending.xml文件, 而不是DELET-ing它, 但我同意你的观点 - 删除它似乎呈现同样的问题编辑. 我rejigged的文章,并添加了警告. 我没有碰pending.xml文件,我会感到惊讶,如果有必要.

回复
的gravatarNiemiro

我用这些日志处理颇有几分, 而你是正确的,删除​​pending.xml是一样糟糕的编辑它 (我的链接是错误铅ING). 其实, 整个链路是有点奇怪, 因为常见的解决方案是逸岸删除的文件. 有些人编辑的文件, 并去除有问题的线路, 但更COM-monly, 该文件只是删除.

该pending.xml用于存储这些都是可以作出了一个重新启动的变化. 目前,脱颖而出, 此修补程序仅适用于当一台计算机无法更新后开机, 不CON-图ure并恢复, 卡住了白写在黑色的屏幕刷新页面, 等等. 等等. 它不能用于在一个CheckSUR.log修复错误. 其实, 它被普遍使用在重新启动时修复0XC0000034错误 (安全模式也会吐回这个错误)

遗憾的TU-nately, 最近我有我的网站离线, 然而, 它会重新联机在几个星期. 基本盟友, 它con-tains一个com-预母鸡 - 香港专业教育学院名单 (ABSO-lutely COM-预母鸡 - 香港专业教育学院, 我萃取泰德它从CheckSUR.exe本身) 每个可能发生的错误列表和警告,ing 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸 可以抛出, 然后给了我的COM,目对如何解决它, 而接下来的步骤。). 我要发表评论这里的时候,我把它重新联机, 如果你有兴趣.

Also, 作为附加点, 我每个儿子盟友 (在论坛上工作时 - 我创造了大量修正为CheckSUR日常记录), 而不是在其他计算机上查找文件, ESPE - cially当它涉及到兰语言包, 我常常不具备的文件. 每个儿子盟友, 我从更新他们,自我解压文件. 谷歌搜索的 KB NUM-BER, ,然后从微软下加载, 然后提取更新, 使用指令tiosn (例如这里: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/155584-windows-update-extract-update.html)

为了节省自己的时间, 我有自动化工具,自动地提取更新, 找到所需文件, CRE-吃了一个修复, 而回吐部分的BBCode给我贴给用户! 我也有要运行哪个下载并运行用户的工具 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸 如果需要的话, ANA-lyzes日志文件, 向下加载需要更新, 他们提取, 提取COR-RECT文件, 形成了一个修复, 并修复系统. 这些都尚未公布, 但在同一时间被释放我的新网站.

最后, 你知道,如果你不想摆弄权限, 你可以把。妈妈和。cat文件放到C:\WINDOWS TEMP CheckSur 维修包和。manifest文件放到C:\WINDOWS TEMP CheckSur 维修舱单, 并重新运行 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸, 它会整理出来给你.

然而, 它并不适用于有效载荷的工作文件, 只是,摩尼巨星, .猫, 和。妈妈, 和。猫。mum文件必须被配对.

如果你感兴趣跨, 我可以发送更多的细节.

除此之外,, 我认为艺术ICLE是Excel借给, 和网站,以及. 我还没有真正踏上这里之前, 我将肯定会现在有一个很好看!

它已经大到你谈谈!

理查德

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡夫

哇! 你似乎知道你的东西就这一个真的. 我希望您的网站已运行了: 2 天前,当我试图解决这个问题 - 在这篇文章也只是一直感谢你和一个链接!

我怀疑有可能从得到的更新文件, 但它是更快地从笔记本电脑拉他们比找到合适的更新, 向下加载它, 并提取它. 自动工具将是最佳的解决方案.

你WEL-来发送更多的细节, 但如果你要去坚持他们对您的新网站这是一样好 - 只要他们公开其所有的好. 给我留言,当你回来了,我要看看 (并坚持一个链接到艺术ICLE以上).

它是一个认罪-URE为此太!

回复
的gravatarNiemiro

大家好!

我有一个环顾四周你的网站, 我真的很喜欢它! 一个Excel借出的网站! 我的COM-完全下站为你, 和大多数人, 从另一台计算机抓住文件是最好的,simpest方式. 的确, 我以前做的, 仍然做, OCCA - 锡永盟友, 当我不能工作了 KB 艺术ICLE文件原点,从阿泰. 然而, 我只是觉得,你可能想知道我做事的方式, 特别是在体积和自动.

我特别喜欢这篇文章, 因为我真的很喜欢它, 是,你必须真正捕获检测到的固定损坏的精神 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸. 越来越多的人谁不熟悉某个日志文件一种倾向,只是忽略它. 随着等份思想和谷歌, 大多数日志文件可以被破解. 并且还, 你已经帽应该用针戳穿读日志, 提取的文件名, 查找替换,目, 更换损坏amged文件. 德 - 皮特 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸 HAV-ING约 4 方法告诉你有一个文件是心病中断 (见注月底) 这一切都归结到这. 所有经常人跳上修复安装的行列时,Windows Update错误出现. 我可能已经快要解决它在 30 秒, 下载几百兆和我的计划之一的executation. 而且我经常有打张贴首先要预防它. 真的伤心.

Also, 你可能不太知道这些事, 你在这里概述了修复远不止0×80073712. 其实, 这将解决许多双赢DOWS更新错误, 包括前期阶段最常见的所有: 0x800B0100. 你可以很EAS-ILY, 如果你希望, 稍做调整作为一般CheckSUR.log固定导转载当. 你真的可以.

任何路, 我敢打赌,你是真的很高兴,这是一切都结束了! 我真的很喜欢你的网站, 而这个帖子!

它已经赢得-DER-FUL和你谈谈!

理查德

P.S. 从早期, 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸 说,一个明显的损坏在以下任一方式 (一切都非常微妙的不同)

(f) CSI清单所有零
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星和S256H不匹配
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星坏 XML
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星林前中断
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星失败卡塔日志检查
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星小姐 - ING
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星太小
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星无法哈希
(f) 沪深玛尼巨星零长度

大声笑. 146 POS-sible回报了很多REPE-TI重刑. 吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸 日志 (大多) 易!

回复
的gravatarNiemiro

很抱歉的双重职务! 我注意到,你提到微软的CheckSUR.log分析准则, 但事实上是一个广义的第二次分析CheckSUR.log这里的教程: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/108805-system-update-readiness-tool-checksur-log-file-analyzis.html

我提到它,以防万一你以前没见过吧. 对于任何东西更深入 (有 146 POS-sible返回日志), 你将需要更多特殊的主义页, 对于有没有更通用教程.

我希望这有助于🙂

理查德

回复

11Windows Update IconFix Windows Update or Service Pack error 80073712

It’s that time of year again, and as always, when I visit the family over xmas there are various PC issues to resolve.  This year there were blessedly few issues, but there was 1 problem that it took me quite a while to track down and resolve.  One of the families PCs was failing to install Windows 7 service pack 1.  It’s a fairly new PC and came with an OEM install of Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, all legit and activated.  It also has up-to-date anti-virus protection, and other than the SP1 install problems it seemed to be in excellent working order.

Error 80073712

The error thrown by windows update was error 80073712, which according to windows help (and the Microsoft help page) “occurs when the Windows component store is corrupt”.  Microsoft provide a tool, called the System Update Readiness tool (KB947821) which it supposed to fix this problem.  I downloaded the tool and ran it (which took quite a long time), after which it reported success.  I then reattempted the SP1 update but it still failed.

After further research I discovered this is an issue which has plagued both 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows, ever since Vista.  It seems to affect all service pack releases (KB936330, KB948465 and KB976932) Hence the System Update Readiness tool being for Windows Vista, 7, 2008 and 2008 R2.  There are lots of unhelpful suggestions available, but the actual solution is fairly simple, as long as you have access to another PC with the same OS installed!  In my case I had my laptop with me, running Windows 7 x64 SP1.  I’m not sure if having SP1 may sometimes make a difference, or if having Professional instead of Home Premium may likewise sometimes make a difference, but in my case these differences didn’t matter – my solution worked just fine.  For more detailed information, I found the Microsoft TechNet article “Advanced guidelines for diagnosing and fixing servicing corruption” very useful.

The Solution

Firstly, download and install the System Update Readiness tool.  If you’re lucky this will just fix the problem the first time.  However, before attempting the service pack install, we’re going to check…

Click on start and in the search box type “notepad %windir%\logs\cbs\checksur.log” to open the readiness tool’s log file.

At the bottom of the file there should be a summary which looks like

[code lang=”plain”]Summary:
Seconds executed: 685
Found 2 errors
Fixed 2 errors[/code]

If the number of errors fixed is the same as the number found then you should be sorted – you can now just go ahead and install the service pack or windows update as normal.  However, in my case it wasn’t, so…

The log file identifies any files it couldn’t fix.  Files it can’t fix are ones that aren’t present on the system for some reason.  You need to get them from another PC running the same version of Windows

In the log file, under the section called “Checking Component Store” there will be a list of files that are missing or corrupt.  I had 4 listed as below…

[code lang=”plain”]amd64_policy.9.0.microsoft.vc90.atl_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4148_none_a9427d6be424cb66.manifest
amd64_10568c9df37e2a69df4103e1a1b191ca_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16695_none_33990b4ad429800c.manifest
LDDMCore.ptxml in amd64_microsoft-windows-lddmcore_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_07bd8a45fd3dcc23
LDDMCore.ptxml in amd64_microsoft-windows-lddmcore_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.20715_none_0892dc3716229fcb[/code]

The manifest files can be found (on another PC) in %windir%\winsxs\Manifests and the folders containing the other files are found in %windir%\winsxs

Copy the missing files to the PC with the problem, into the following locations

.manifest files into %Windir%\Temp\CheckSUR\winsxs\manifests\
.mum and .cat files into %Windir%\Temp\CheckSUR\servicing\packages\
any files from the folders with the long names (in my case the 2 LDDMCore.ptxml files) go into the appropriate directory in %windir%\winsxs

This final step may require taking ownership and changing the permissions of the directories in question.

Now re-run the System Update Readiness tool.  Once re-run repeat step 2 to open the log file, and confirm that the summary section now says the number of fixes matches the number of problems.

Assuming the value for fixes is now equal to the value for problems found, you can now re-run the service pack or windows update, which should succeed.

What next

If for some reason you’re still having problems, there are some other things you can try…

1. Run the Windows Update troubleshooter

  • click on start, type “troubleshooting” and press enter.
  • In the control panel window that opens click on “Fix problems with Windows Update”.
  • Note: this applies to Windows 7, but the precise details may be different under other systems.

2. Clear out the windows update cache…

  • Click start, type services.msc
  • In the services admin window, scroll down to “Windows Update”, right click on it, and click stop.
  • Click start, type %windir%\SoftwareDistribution
  • Select all files and delete them.  If any won’t delete you can take ownership and change permissions of them, or try again in safe mode.
  • Restart the “Windows Update” service from the services admin window.
  • Re-run the windows update troubleshooter

Extra things you can try

1. A disk check

  • It’s fairly unlikely, but it could be disk corruption
  • Open my computer, right click on the system drive (usually Drive C) and select properties
  • Click on the tools tab, and click “Check now”
  • Make sure both boxes are ticked and click start
  • You will probably have to restart, and the check might take a long time

2. The system file checker

  • Click start, type sfc /scannow
  • You might need an installation disk
  • This might take a while

3. Delete the pending.xml file in %windir%\winsxs

  • Click on start, type %windir%\winsxs
  • Scroll down and locate the file pending.xml
  • Take ownership and change the permissions of the file
  • Delete the file
  • Credit for this to TyeGuy on TechArena forums
  • Please note that Microsoft do not recommend doing this (see comments below, thanks niemiro).  If you’ve got this far and it still isn’t working, drop us a comment and we’ll see what we can do to help!

The last resort

Obtain a windows installation DVD, rerun setup and carry out a repair install.  You will have to reinstall all updates.

Did this help you to fix the Windows Update Error?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Found this useful? Please do let us know by dropping a comment below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

11 Comments

gravatar Emilio

No tengo el archivo pending.xml
Por lo demás, he hecho todo excepto lo de cargar de nuevo el Sistema Operativo, y el error 80073712 persiste

Reply
gravatar Carlos K.

This article really saved my day but niemiro’s comments (and articles and his KB_Extractor) were also essential. I finally didn’t have another Windows 7 x64 installation with the files I needed so I had to identify, download and extract the respective windows update files. Lots of work — especially the click-intensive permission changing part — but I am now finally installing the Service Pack as I write this comment… Thanks! 🙂

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

A pleasure. Thanks for the feedback. I’ll look at updating the article and including links to some of the files needed. Trial ISO images of windows 7 and newer installation disks can be downloaded direct from Microsoft, so that is probably the easiest route.

Reply
gravatar Tim

Man, thanks so much. All the Microsoft stuff didn’t help me, so I’m glad I found this great article – I’ve now fixed it all.
God Bless

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife


niemiro:

Also, and you may not quite know it yet, what you have outlined here fixes far more than just 0×80073712. In fact, it will fix many Windows Update errors, including the most common of all: 0x800B0100. You could very easily, if you wished, repost this with a few tweaks as a general CheckSUR.log fixing guide. You really could.

I might very well consider doing that. Unless you would like to write a guest post? or maybe even a full guide? I don’t want to tread on the toes of your own site though – if you’ve got a full guide yourself i’m happy to just link it – credit where it’s due afterall

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Thanks for the info! The article you link to is actually about editing the pending.xml file, rather than deleting it, but I take your point – deleting it would appear to present the same problems as editing. I’ve rejigged the article and added a warning. I didn’t have to touch the pending.xml file and I would be surprised if it is necessary.

Reply
gravatar niemiro

I deal with these logs quite a bit, and you are correct that deleting pending.xml is just as bad as editing it (my link is misleading). In fact, the whole link is slightly odd, because the common solution was infact to delete the file. Some people edited the file, and removed problematic lines, but far more commonly, the file was just removed.

The pending.xml is used to store changes which are to be made over a re-boot. Therefore, this fix only applies when a computer cannot boot after updating, fails to configure and reverts, gets stuck on that white writing on black screen updating page, etc. etc. It is not used for fixing errors in a CheckSUR.log. In fact, it was commonly used to fix a 0xC0000034 error upon restart (Safe Mode will also spit back this error)

Unfortunately, I have recently had to take my website offline, however, it will be back online in a few weeks. Basically, it contains a comprehensive list (absolutely comprehensive, I extracted it from the CheckSUR.exe itself) list of every possible error and warning SURT can throw, and then gave my comments on how to fix it, and next steps.). I shall post a comment here when I bring it back online again, if you are interested.

Also, as an additional point, I personally (when working on the forum – I create lots of fixes for CheckSUR logs daily), instead of finding files on other computers, especially when it comes to language packs, I often don’t have the files. Personally, I extract the files from the updates themselves. Google search for the KB Number, and then download it from Microsoft, and then extract the update, using instructiosn (for example here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/155584-windows-update-extract-update.html)

To save myself time, I have automated tools which automagically extract the update, find the required files, create a fix, and spit back some BBCode for me to paste to the user! I also have a tool for the user to run which downloads and runs SURT if required, analyzes the log file, downloads the updates required, extracts them, extracts the correct files, forms a fix, and fixes the system. These are not yet released, but will be released at the same time as my new website.

Finally, did you know that if you don’t want to fiddle with permissions, you can put .mum and .cat files into C:\Windows\Temp\CheckSur\Servicing\Packages\ and .manifest files into C:\Windows\Temp\CheckSur\Servicing\Manifests, and re-run SURT, and it will sort it out for you.

However, it does not work for payload files, only .manifest, .cat, and .mum, and .cat and .mum files MUST be paired up.

If you are interested, I can send more details.

Other than that, I thought the article was excellent, and the website as well. I haven’t truly set foot here before, and I shall certainly be having a good look now!

It has been great to talk to you!

Richard

Reply
gravatar Jon Scaife

Wow! You really seem to know your stuff on this one. I wish your site had been up 2 days ago when I was trying to fix this – this article would just have been a thank you and a link!

I suspected it might be possible to get the files from updates, but it was quicker to pull them from the laptop than to locate the right update, download it, and extract it. An automatic tool would be the optimal solution.

You’re welcome to send more details, but if you’re gonna stick them on your new site that’s just as good – as long as they’re public its all good. Give me a shout when you’re back up and I’ll have a look (and stick a link into the article above).

Its been a pleasure this end too!

Reply
gravatar niemiro

Hello again!

I have had a look around your website, and I really like it! An excellent website! I completely understand that for you, and most people, grabbing the files from another computer is the best and simpest way. Indeed, I used to do that, and still do, occasionally, when I can’t work out the KB article a file originates from. However, I just thought that you might like to know the way I do things, especially in bulk and automatically.

What I particularly like about this article, for I do really like it, is that you have truly captured the spirit of fixing corruptions detected by SURT. There is a tendancy for people who are not familiar with a certain log file to just ignore it. With equal parts thought and Google, most log files can be cracked. And also, you have captured the read log, extract file names, find replacements, replace damamged files. Despite SURT having about 4 ways to tell you that a file is corrupt (see note at end) it all boils down to this. All to often people jump on the Repair Install bandwagon when a Windows Update error comes up. And I might have been about to fix it in 30 seconds, a few megabytes of downloading and an executation of one of my programs. And I often have to fight to post first to prevent it. Sad really.

Also, and you may not quite know it yet, what you have outlined here fixes far more than just 0x80073712. In fact, it will fix many Windows Update errors, including the most common of all: 0x800B0100. You could very easily, if you wished, repost this with a few tweaks as a general CheckSUR.log fixing guide. You really could.

Anyway, I bet you are really glad that it is all over now! I really do like your website, and this post!

It has been wonderful to talk to you!

Richard

P.S. From earlier, SURT says that a manifest is corrupt in any of these ways (all very subtly different)

(f) CSI Manifest All Zeros
(f) CSI Manifest and S256H Do Not Match
(f) CSI Manifest Bad XML
(f) CSI Manifest Corrupt
(f) CSI Manifest Failed Catalog Check
(f) CSI Manifest Missing
(f) CSI Manifest Too Small
(f) CSI Manifest Unable to Hash
(f) CSI Manifest Zero Length

lol. 146 possible returns with a lot of repetition. SURT logs are (mostly) easy!

Reply
gravatar niemiro

Sorry for the double post! I noticed that you referenced Microsoft’s guidelines on CheckSUR.log analysis, but there is in fact a second generalised CheckSUR.log analysis tutorial here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/108805-system-update-readiness-tool-checksur-log-file-analyzis.html

I mention it just in case you haven’t seen it before. For anything in more depth (there are 146 possible returns for the log), you will need more specialist pages, for there are no more generic tutorials.

I hope this helps 🙂

Richard

Reply