1内部硬盘徽标硬件RAID和消费者的硬盘问题

几年前,我很幸运,有购买二手硬件RAID机会 5 卡 (一个槟榔 1220) 一个非常低的价格. 从那时起,我用卡连同几套驱动器 (原本300gig, 然后750gig目前1Tb的) 在一个专用的服务器PC作为一个大的网络文件的存储,为家庭的音乐, 相片, 视频和后备.


之前,我得到的硬件卡我尝试使用软件RAID, 但发现结果非常令人失望. 该服务器拥有低功耗, 单核CPU是没有真正达到表演的任务作为RAID-5的发动机. 虽然我听说过很多次,那 RAID 不是备份, 这就是只是一个廉价的解决方案会做的情况下,. RAID-5 从单个驱动器故障提供保护, 这是我的目的不够好. 专用卡提供了巨大的性能优势, 但在实践中,这不是很重要. 但是它增加的特点是! 槟榔卡提供 操作系统 独立的RAID解决方案,计算了不少. 它还提供了在线容量扩展和RAID级别迁移 (所以, 例如, 我可以升级到RAID-6). 这两项功能都更便宜的解决方案简单得多.

所以, 你可能认为, 有什么问题. 答案: 缺乏来自硬盘厂商的选择…

自从使用槟榔卡我已经从偶尔的驱动遭遇 “故障”. 一旦断电并在驱动器上重现为全功能. 然后,我不得不花很多时间重建从降级阵列恢复正常. 一番搜索后,我已被诊断问题, 但我无法正确地解决它.

硬盘制造商提供了一系列用于不同目的的驱动器. 典型的驱动器我们大多数人买的是消费级驱动器. 制造商还提供专为服务器的企业级驱动器具有密集的使用模式和 24.7 运行时间. 这些驱动器通常物理上相同, 但经历了额外的测试,并略有不同的固件中提供, 服务器工作负载而优化.

这些功能之一是错误恢复控制 (ERC). 此功能也被称为CCTL (命令完成时限) 由三星和日立和TLER (限时差错恢复) 西部数据. 所有驱动器遭受偶尔的错误在物理层, 这可以通过之类的杂散宇宙射线引起的. 这些错误是由内置的方式驱动器存储数据冗余处理, 但偶尔也可以严重到足以引起问题读取数据. 普通消费者驱动器将花费较长时间试图读取损坏的数据进行恢复. 然后,他们将其映射到驱动器的一个新的组成部分,一切照常进行. 然而, 这种延迟可能会导致在企业环境中的严重问题, 所以企业级硬盘将在短时间之后超时自我修复尝试 (平时 7 秒左右) 和错误报告给RAID控制器. 然后RAID控制器由阵列中使用的其他驱动器重新计算数据处理错误. 这可以防止大的延迟发送数据, 但需要其他驱动器的存在和RAID控制器.

所以, 我有一个合适的硬件RAID卡. 它希望听到从驱动器背面内不超过 7-8 秒无论错误的. 我也有消费者硬盘, 它试图修复自己的错误,很长一段时间. 因此,当出现错误的驱动器会尝试修复它, 没有内响应 7-8 秒, 和RAID控制器比假定驱动器发生故障和踢出来阵列的.

所以, 显而易见的解决方案是,要么告诉RAID控制器等待更长的时间没有踢出来的驱动, 或者告诉驱动器后放弃 7 就像秒的企业级硬盘… 僵硬, 也不是可能的!

我已经广泛搜索, 但我无法找到任何合适的RAID-5卡,允许用户更改他们将等待多长时间驱动. 在过去有可能与通过WD发布了一个实用工具启用TLER功能,称为WD-TLER一些WD硬盘, 但最近WD已禁用此选项, 想必 “保护” 在他们的企业级硬盘的巨大标记 (这是两倍相同的硬件价格)

有些人已经找到了使用任何一些驱动器临时启用ERC HDAT2, smartctl读取 或者 hdparm的, 然而,这些都不支持我 RAID Windows下卡, 如果PC上电循环的更改将丢失.

对于需要大容量存储的用户喜欢自己, 并通过硬件RAID-5解决方案提供的特征, 但是,这并不需要 24.7 运行时间, 重型用途而专门设计有长的担保或驱动器目前还没有合适的解决方案. 其对时间或者是驱动器制造商解决了这个市场 (通过释放消费驱动与ERC启用小, e.g. 15%, 额外费用) 或RAID卡制造商通过增加时间的选择,提供一卡解决市场的驱动器超时前. 创建这两种解决方案是微不足道, 一个简单的固件的调整会做的工作.

直到那时, 我劝别人,以避免使用硬件RAID卡与消费驱动器, 并给予企业级硬盘的价格溢价我建议完全避免硬件RAID.

认为我们已经错过了什么? 让我们通过下面的评论知道. 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

条评论

1Inside HDD LogoHardware RAID and consumer HDD problems

A couple of years ago I was lucky enough to have the oppor­tun­ity to pur­chase a second hand hard­ware raid 5 card (an Areca 1220) for a very low price. Since then I have used the card along with sev­er­al sets of drives (ori­gin­ally 300gig, then 750gig and cur­rently 1Tb) in a ded­ic­ated serv­er PC as a large net­work file-store for the fam­ily’s music, pho­tos, videos and back-ups.


Before I obtained the hard­ware card I tried using soft­ware raid, but found the res­ults very dis­ap­point­ing. The serv­er has a low power, single core cpu which isn’t really up to the task of act­ing as a raid‑5 engine. Whilst I’ve heard plenty of times that RAID isn’t a back-up, this is a case where only a cheap solu­tion will do. RAID-5 offers pro­tec­tion from single drive fail­ure, which is good enough for my pur­poses. The ded­ic­ated card offers an enorm­ous per­form­ance advant­age, but in prac­tice this isn’t very import­ant. The fea­tures it adds how­ever are! The Areca card offers an OS inde­pend­ent raid solu­tion which counts for a lot. It also offers online capa­city expan­sion and raid-level migra­tion (so, for example, I could upgrade to raid‑6). Both of these fea­tures are much less simple with cheap­er solu­tions.

So, you might think, what’s the prob­lem. The answer: the lack of options from Hard Disk man­u­fac­tur­ers…

Ever since using the Areca card I have suffered from occa­sion­al drive “fail­ures”. Upon power­ing off and on the drive reappears as fully func­tion­al. I then have to spend many hours rebuild­ing the array from degraded back to nor­mal. After much search­ing I have dia­gnosed the prob­lem, but am unable to prop­erly solve it.

Hard Drive man­u­fac­tur­ers provide a range of drives for dif­fer­ent pur­poses. The typ­ic­al drives most of us buy are con­sumer level drives. The man­u­fac­tur­ers also offer enter­prise-class drives designed for serv­ers which have intens­ive use pat­terns and 24.7 uptime. These drives are often phys­ic­ally identic­al, but have under­gone addi­tion­al test­ing and are sup­plied with slightly dif­fer­ent firm­ware, optim­ised for serv­er work­loads.

One of these fea­tures is Error Recov­ery Con­trol (ERC). This fea­ture is also called CCTL (Com­mand Com­ple­tion Time Lim­it) by Sam­sung and Hita­chi and TLER (Time-Lim­ited Error Recov­ery) by West­ern Digit­al. All drives suf­fer the occa­sion­al error at a phys­ic­al level, which could be caused by things like stray cos­mic rays. These errors are handled by redund­ancy built into the way the drive stores data, but occa­sion­ally one can be severe enough to cause prob­lems read­ing data. Nor­mal con­sumer drives will spend a pro­longed peri­od attempt­ing to read the dam­aged data to recov­er it. They then map it to a new part of the drive and everything con­tin­ues as nor­mal. How­ever, this delay can cause severe prob­lems in enter­prise envir­on­ments, so enter­prise drives will time-out their self-repair attempts after a short peri­od (usu­ally 7 seconds or so) and report the error to the raid con­trol­ler. The raid con­trol­ler then handles the error by recal­cu­lat­ing the data using the oth­er drives in the array. This pre­vents large delays in send­ing data, but requires the pres­ence of oth­er drives and a raid con­trol­ler.

So, I have a prop­er hard­ware raid card. It expects to hear back from drives with­in no more than 7–8 seconds regard­less of an error. I also have con­sumer hard drives, which attempt to repair their own errors for a long peri­od. So when an error occurs the drive tries to fix it, does­n’t respond with­in 7–8 seconds, and the raid con­trol­ler than assumes the drive has failed and kicks it out of the array.

So, the obvi­ous solu­tions would be either to tell the raid con­trol­ler to wait longer without kick­ing a drive out, OR tell the drive to give up after 7 seconds like an enter­prise drive… Infuri­at­ingly, neither is pos­sible!

I have searched extens­ively, but I can­’t find any prop­er raid‑5 cards which allow the user to change how long they will wait for a drive. In the past there were some WD drives which could have the TLER fea­ture enabled with a util­ity released by WD called WD-TLER, but recently WD have dis­abled this option, pre­sum­ably to “pro­tect” the huge markup on their enter­prise drives (which are double the price for the same hard­ware)

Some people have found ways to tem­por­ar­ily enable ERC on some drives using either HDAT2, Smart­CTL or hdparm, how­ever these do not sup­port my RAID card under Win­dows, and the change is lost if the PC is power cycled.

For users like myself that need a large capa­city stor­age, and the fea­tures offered by a hard­ware raid‑5 solu­tion, but that do not need 24.7 uptime, long war­ranties or drives designed for heavy duty usage there is cur­rently NO appro­pri­ate solu­tion. Its about time either a drive man­u­fac­turer addressed this mar­ket (by releas­ing a con­sumer drive with ERC enabled for a small, e.g. 15%, premi­um) or a raid-card man­u­fac­turer addressed the mar­ket by offer­ing a card with the option to increase the time before drives are timed out. Cre­at­ing either of these solu­tions is trivi­al, a simple firm­ware tweak would do the job.

Until then, I advise oth­ers to avoid using hard­ware raid cards with con­sumer drives, and giv­en the price premi­um of enter­prise drives I recom­mend­ing avoid­ing hard­ware raid alto­geth­er.

Think we've missed something? Let us know by commenting below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

One Comment