0媒体服务器一种新的媒体服务器

正如我最近的人,tioned, 我 规划一个新的媒体系统 新的居留。在已经与dvblink试验成功, 我决定是时候将我的 电视 从我的卡 HTPC 到我的服务器和手工记录的义务, 转码和存储 电视 服务器.

然而, 我现在的闪龙LE-1150系统不仅短的 PCI-E插槽, 它也是可悲的动力不足 (并且质量很差板载以太网).  然而令人愉悦的动力高效地为它的年龄的系统。由于所有的HDD和 电视 在服务器卡将小号**亩足够的力量,因为它是, 我不想要一个系统,将小号**亩的任何比绝对必要更多的果汁。在另一方面, 服务器是多用 - 它不仅将被记录, 转码和投放媒体, 它也运行 2 Apache的网站, FTP服务器, 各种媒体管理应用, 和一些自动下载和播客.

我决定这是有意义的替代核心系统 (主机板, 中央处理器, 记忆) 因为我需要更多的 PCI-E插槽, 和DDR3内存比DDR2便宜得多, 以及触摸较低功率。最低供电现代制度在那里是AMD E350。我有一个 E35M1-M PRO我 HTPC 并留下了深刻印象吧, 但它并没有真正提供,我从服务器所需的咕噜, 实际上它是 一般比慢闪龙 它会被更换!  该 同样的道理 也排除了任何基于Atom的系统。所有其他的AMD平台是显著更大的功率比同性能的现代Intel系统饿了。我已经有一个台式机的核心 2 双核系统,将满足要求, 但随后,将需要用新系统取代.

无论哪种方式, 我需要一个新的系统, 它是有道理的,得到了​​最新之一,DDR3, 因为我很高兴我目前的桌面, 并希望大量内存的服务器, 这是有道理的把新系统到服务器。根据 在SilentPCReview文章, i5-2400可以undervolted核心,这导致功率汲取非常相似的低功率 (与低性能) 核心i5-2400S。该 2400 具有性能约 4X的闪龙 和给定的存储器加倍, 和一个老迈拓300GB系统驱动器的备用WD猛禽,我有交换, 我期待着一个巨大的性能提升 - 究竟需要什么.

SPCR undervolted他们 2400 为1.08V, 但我所看到的筹码报告undervolted触摸更, 降到低至1.045v1.040在 甚至 1.000在.  与超频, 这将取决于个别芯片, 但我很乐观,我可以降电压,从而降功率使用过.

我最终选定了核心i5-2400, 随着DDR3的8Gig和技嘉GA-Z68A-D3-B3。我选择了技嘉的,因为我以前曾经有过自己的董事会和已经至少高兴与他们同其他品牌。我选择了Z68主板,因为我想一板有很多的 PCI-E插槽,并板载显卡。 H67主板没有足够的 PCI-E信道,以适应我 RAID and 电视 牌。最后一个好处是,在未来,当我终于下一个升级服务器, 新的董事会将得到重新部署, 并且是Z68是用于其他用途更灵活.

一旦新系统运行起来, 既dvblink和FlexRAID电源,我会写了检讨,并制作指南.

你怎么看? 请给我们一个评论如下! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

0Media ServerA new Media Server

As I men­tioned recently, I am plan­ning a new media sys­tem for a new res­id­ence.  Hav­ing already exper­i­mented suc­cess­fully with dvblink, I decided it was time to move my TV cards from my HTPC to my serv­er and hand the duty of record­ing, transcod­ing and stor­ing TV to the serv­er.

How­ever, my cur­rent Sem­pron LE-1150 sys­tem is not only short of PCI-E slots, it is also woe­fully under­powered (and has poor qual­ity onboard eth­er­net).  It is how­ever pleas­ingly power effi­cient for a sys­tem of its age.  As all the HDDs and TV cards in the serv­er will s**k enough power as it is, I don’t want a sys­tem that will s**k up any more juice than abso­lutely neces­sary.  On the oth­er hand, the serv­er is multi-pur­pose — not only will it be record­ing, transcod­ing and serving media, it also runs 2 apache web­sites, ftp-serv­er, vari­ous media man­age­ment apps, and some auto­mated down­load­ing and pod­cast­ing.

I decided it made sense to replace the core sys­tem (mother­board, cpu, memory) since I need more PCI-E slots, and DDR3 memory is much cheap­er than DDR2, as well as a touch lower powered.  The low­est powered mod­ern sys­tem out there is the AMD E350.  I have an E35M1-M Pro in my HTPC and have been impressed with it, how­ever it doesn’t really offer the grunt that I want from the serv­er, in fact it is gen­er­ally slower than the Sem­pron it would be repla­cing!  The same reas­on­ing also rules out any Atom based sys­tem.  All oth­er AMD plat­forms are sig­ni­fic­antly more power hungry than mod­ern Intel sys­tems of the same per­form­ance.  I already have a desktop Core 2 Duo sys­tem which would meet the require­ments, but then that would need repla­cing with a new sys­tem.

Either way, I needed a new sys­tem, and it made sense to get an up-to-date one with DDR3, and since I’m happy with my cur­rent desktop, and would like lots of memory in the serv­er, it made sense to put the new sys­tem into the serv­er.  Accord­ing to an art­icle on Silent­P­CRe­view, the Core i5-2400 can be under­vol­ted which res­ults in power draw very sim­il­ar to the low powered (and lower per­form­ing) Core i5-2400S.  The 2400 has per­form­ance approx­im­ately 4x that of the sem­pron and giv­en the doub­ling of memory, and swap­ping of an old 300Gb Max­tor sys­tem drive for a spare WD Rap­tor that I have, I anti­cip­ate a huge per­form­ance boost — exactly what is required.

SPCR under­vol­ted their 2400 to 1.08v, but I have seen reports of chips under­vol­ted a touch more, down to as low as 1.045v1.040v or even 1.000v.  As with over­clock­ing, this will depend on the indi­vidu­al chip, but I’m optim­ist­ic I can drop the voltage and thereby drop the power usage too.

I even­tu­ally settled on the Core i5-2400, along with 8Gig of DDR3 and the Giga­byte GA-Z68A-D3-B3.  I selec­ted the Giga­byte because I have had their boards before and been at least as happy with them as with oth­er makes.  I opted for a Z68 board because I wanted a board with lots of PCI-E slots and also onboard graph­ics.  H67 boards don’t have enough PCI-E lanes to accom­mod­ate my RAID and TV cards.  A final bonus is that in future when I even­tu­ally next upgrade the serv­er, the new board will get redeployed, and being Z68 is more flex­ible for oth­er uses.

Once the new sys­tem is up and run­ning, with both dvblink and flexraid I will write-up a review and build guide.

Got some thoughts of your own? Indulge yourself below by commenting! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply