0Как избежать перехвата доменного имени

Как и многие другие люди, у меня есть несколько доменных имен, and use the free ver­sion of google apps to man­age the e‑mail for them. Несколько месяцев назад я читал рассказ о горе от Наоки Хиросимы, кто потерял контроль над своими ценнымиN Twitter имя пользователя, благодаря кражи доменных имен.


Наоки сделали все разумное, что я сделал, использование 2 фактор (or 2‑step) аутентификации для всех своих основных услуг, в том числе его аккаунт Google. Unfor­tu­nately his domain regis­trar had­n’t offered 2 двухфакторная аутентификация, and this weak point in the chain was all that was needed for an attack­er to take con­trol of a large num­ber of his accounts. Я понял, что я бы быть уязвимы для той же атаке, и сразу же решил принять меры.

То, что было необходимо было регистратор доменов с 2 шаг аутентификации. Качество их DNS sys­tem did­n’t interest me as I already use Route 53 для DNS, и Amazon Web Services же включают в себя 2 двухфакторная аутентификация. однако, I do have sev­er­al .co.uk domains which many US regis­trars don’t seem to offer, по крайней мере, не при официальной поддержке. Потом я услышал, что Amazon предлагали регистрацию домена самостоятельно (с помощью партнерства с существующей регистратора). Их цены очень конкурентоспособны с моим прежним регистратором (123-Редж), they already provide my actu­al DNS служба, и, конечно, у них есть все важно 2 двухфакторная аутентификация. Миграция взял лишь несколько часов. .ком и .org домены Стоимость $12 to trans­fer but this included a year exten­sion which is good value just for a renew­al price.

В итоге - если у вас есть у вас есть Google Apps с вашим собственным доменным именем, убедитесь, что ваш регистратор доменов с безопасным с 2 фактор аутентификации. If they aren’t — con­sider mov­ing!

Есть некоторые мысли самостоятельно? Побалуйте себя ниже, комментируя! Если вы хотите подписаться, пожалуйста, используйте ссылку подписаться на меню в верхнем правом углу. Вы также можете поделиться этим со своими друзьями с помощью социальных связей ниже. ура.

оставьте ответ

0How to avoid a domain name hijacking

Like many oth­er people I own sev­er­al domain names, and use the free ver­sion of google apps to man­age the e-mail for them. A few months ago I read a tale of woe by Naoki Hiroshi­ma, who had lost con­trol of his valu­able @N twit­ter user­name thanks to a domain name theft.


Naoki had done everything reas­on­able that I had done, using 2 factor (or 2-step) authen­tic­a­tion for all his major ser­vices, includ­ing his google account. Unfor­tu­nately his domain regis­trar hadn’t offered 2 factor authen­tic­a­tion, and this weak point in the chain was all that was needed for an attack­er to take con­trol of a large num­ber of his accounts. I real­ised I would be vul­ner­able to the same attack, and imme­di­ately resolved to take action.

What was required was a domain regis­trar with 2 step authen­tic­a­tion. The qual­ity of their DNS sys­tem didn’t interest me as I already use Route 53 for DNS, and amazon web ser­vices do include 2 factor authen­tic­a­tion. How­ever, I do have sev­er­al .co.uk domains which many US regis­trars don’t seem to offer, at least not with offi­cial sup­port. Then I heard that amazon were offer­ing domain regis­tra­tion them­selves (via a part­ner­ship with an exist­ing regis­trar). Their prices are very com­pet­it­ive with my former regis­trar (123-Reg), they already provide my actu­al DNS ser­vice, and of course they have the all import­ant 2 factor authen­tic­a­tion. Migra­tion took a mat­ter of hours. .com and .org domains cost $12 to trans­fer but this included a year exten­sion which is good value just for a renew­al price.

In sum­mary — if you have you own google apps with your own domain name, make sure your domain regis­trar s secure with 2 factor auth. If they aren’t — con­sider mov­ing!

What do you think? Drop us a comment below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply