19窗 8 商标视窗 8: 可怕可怕可怕的Metro UI

行, 我怀疑标题是要送人。我下载了Windows 8 8250 今天con-苏美尔前期观点, 几乎IMME - 二ately实时ISED的,因为它代表我会避免双赢DOWS 8 像瘟疫。至于我有关 用户界面 改变电流rently使双赢DOWS 8 的双赢DOWS有史以来最糟糕的释放 (甚至不如双赢DOWS ME!)

简单地说 - 微软已经采取了Excel借给双赢DOWS 7, 撕去良好平衡式和INTEG级桌面 用户界面 并缝上一些可怕的双赢DOWS电话 7 键入接口。给温多多的礼物 7 桌面 电脑 已CON-SID-ER-干练更成功一定-FUL不是双赢DOWS电话 7, 你必须想知道微软的想法.

提出此问题的另一种方法是想知道为什么微软似乎如此迫切希望放置电话/平板电脑 用户界面 进入笔记本电脑/台式机PC环境。他们似乎并没有意识到,关于启动PC的最好的事情就是恰好它不是电话或标签。想要这种接口的人会购买这种设备。另外-想要限制选择和幼稚的闪亮界面的人已经全部购买了Apple产品,并且不会回来.

除非他们改变我当然SUS-PECT所有微软将要做的就是阿里 - 烯吃了电力用户和AMA-teur技IES并赶他们到Linux (或在少数情况下苹果).  从长远来看,这可能证明是一个大蒙古包误CAL-CU-LA-tion比 MS 实现。如果您自己已经迁移到linux,当您结交朋友时您会怎么做, FAM-ILY, 邻居以及所有依赖您进行技术支持的人都问您,将来他们应该在PC上运行什么?  如果他们必须学习一个全新的 用户界面 他们不妨学习您自己使用的那个,因为您可以帮助他们。并假设这是Linux, 它不会是那么困难,每suade人移动到一个免费的ALTERN-AT-IVE, 尤其是考虑到当前的Linux UI与Windows更加相似 7 比win-DOWS 8 是.

就Win­dows Serv­er而言, 我不知道,如果同样的裂纹锅变动已逼上了 用户界面 那里, 但我只能希望保持理智。我会尽快进行尝试,并会及时更新此信息.

在平均时间, 我建议的补贴,ING与Win-DOWS 7, 和希望的时候微软拔出插头在Win-DOWS 7 支持他们决定返回到螺旋桨台式机 用户界面.

更新资料

我有POS-特德的更新 详细说明如何还原传统的开始菜单

有你自己的一些想法? 下面放纵自己通过评论! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

19 条评论

的gravatarCRob

双赢DOWS 8 打算罐微软. 首次在 20 我认为,ING年约一个ALTERN-AT-IVE 操作系统. 我的另一个观点是台式机不会消失. 它适用于商业与拥有庞大的GAM-ING COM-群落. MS 完全搞砸了这个地铁新旧交替. 没有人知道我喜欢它.

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡菲

这将需要超过 1 故障ure给他们倒在刀下. 怎么看怎么好赢 7 从Vista的显示翠菊他们恢复. 我同意端口的标准PC的依然将是绕了好一段时间, 但INNOV-A重刑已经搬走了不少. 如果, 在 5 要么 10 几年时间, 您可以坐在有显示器的办公桌上, 鼠标和键盘板仅, 并且它们与您的麻袋中的智能手机无线连接, 我认为,这将杀死笔记本和台式机.
不过,在近期内-继续使用Win­dows 7 - 这是Excel借给和做事都赢 8 可以做.

回复
的gravatar韦斯

双赢DOWS 8 是BEY-OND坏和FRU - 达勒 - ING. 微软已经吹了大的时候,他们知道这. 两周前我们进入百思买,其他三对夫妇也正在寻找Win­dows的计算机 7. 我们交换了con-机智通知-A-tion当我们找到双赢DOWS 7 COM-计算机CON-TAC-泰德的OTH-ERS与通知 - 一个重刑. 曾经听说过的“新可乐”的?

回复
的gravatar约翰尼

双赢DOWS 8 全是广告. 这就像一个孩子ç** P弹出所有的地方. 我恨它. 这是垃圾总量.

回复
的gravatarM Widdy

我只好买新机, 拿起与Win-DOWS桌面 8. 哦男孩. 我必须重新启动一天几次. 应用程序锁定. 跨网CON-NEC系统蒸发散退出工作ING. 等等...

我早就应该找到与Win-DOWS桌面 7. 哎呀..... 我的建议是 - 等待,直到双赢DOWS 8 要么是“清理”或等待下一个 操作系统.

回复
的gravatarPJ巴顿

双赢DOWS 8 是最INTOL-ER-能系统我合作过,我从石器时代一个软件开发人员......也许这就是概率LEM但是......“哦,我的上帝啊...你搞砸了! 我想拿回我的钱还是REVI - 锡永某种.

回复
的gravatarH.S.

PJ, 不心疼. 我喜欢新技术 - 无迟缓, 但我不得不承认,运-DOWS 8 是HO​​R-rible. 它有这么多的bug, 毛刺, 而且,它让我想回去双赢DOWS问题 7 DES-每ately. 当电脑进入休眠状态, 它不想一半时间“醒来”. 临克毛刺通出亲克出现, 例如,当光子toshop是开放的, 你必须改变一些“每外形ANCE”设置吊环为双赢DOWS的 8 导致程序中出现故障, 以及标题栏全力复古时,有没有必要为它. 真正的问题出的计算机的人 - U-FAC-TUR-ERS是试图-ING推每个人都能实现云数据, 坦白地说, 我想知道,ING我的通知-A-tion被安全地保存在我的电脑. 这是可悲的看到技术的这种恶性循环, 但如果我们看看“星际迷航” (对不起, 但硬币物做个与此), 它的一些,事情已经COM-ING一会儿. 在表演, 所有计算机SYS-TEMS都INTEG额定使通知-A-tion是与几乎任何一共享. 认为脸书, 铬 操作系统, icloud的, 等等. 这 操作系统 是不是用户友好, 充满了问题.

回复
的gravatar迪奥戈·平托

此页面上STU-PID的水平unbe-liev,能. 在座各位都是壶嘴-ING“OMG 改变不良的I WANT相同的Windows FROM 95 PLS“, 此版本意味着统一Microsoft生态系统, 其INTU它,香港专业教育学院和易于使用. 您可以向下负荷的加载项,DIS-能够在蛋氨酸roUI你们讨厌这么多,但我觉得它易于使用,比运-DOWS快得多 7.

双赢DOWS 8 表明,微软不仅仅只是重新包装时代的老 操作系统 并尝试重新释放它. 他们试图INNOV-吃,并添加新特性. Ubuntu的Unity桌面没有让您选择恢复旧系统的选项, 你仍然有桌面在Win-DOWS 8 因为,开放双赢DOWS如何, 你可以安装自己的mods和附加使它看起来你想要它的样子.

我一直在使用 8400 释放,因为它是做无济于事,能够让我告诉你, 我没有用一个赌注,ter 操作系统 不止这一个.

回复
的gravatar乔恩·斯卡菲

好, 感谢您的COM-换货, 我更喜欢不要个人的东西.

我很高兴你喜欢的双赢DOWS 8 用户新旧交替. 您是否也认为它适合于服务员 操作系统 (e.g. 服务器 2012)? 目前在该网站的艺术ICLE细节ING如何DIS-能够在地铁 用户界面 - 并且使双赢DOWS 8 支撑而正确的使用用鼠标和键盘板这是什么几乎需要. 但是,这种解决方法很笨拙,我认为微软没有给最终用户提供任何好的理由, 或者至少是管理员级别的最终用户, 选择. 怎么会包括经选择伤害了任何一? 他们可以从错误需要使用Unity在Ubuntu上作了了解到 - 许多以前的Ubuntu用户切换显示TROS相当该死的快. 微软未能注意到这一点,使他们的决定变得更加不明智.

我不是“停留在过去”,当谈到新技术 - 无 - 呆呆 - 我爱的android上从第一天开始我的老HTC渴望 1 - 我会感动从诺基亚CLAS-SIC 6300 所以变化可能不那么明显. 我也喜欢双赢DOWS XP时先出来了,请从Windows升级 2000 马上. 当时很多人不喜欢XP的视觉风格, 但是那是OK的,因为离开微软选择将其关闭并返回到一个双赢DOWS 2000 风格. 我曾经在“用户帐户控制”中遇到很多问题,但是再次, 微软给了人们将其关闭的选项. 最后但绝非最不重要的还有一个命令外壳无济于事,能够为这些人“卡”在DOS时代. 双赢DOWS 8 跨脸看起来相当不错的触摸屏设备 - 即. 制表让和电话. 我杆TIC-U用途larly像“苏尔面”的样子,我非常临时,ted到送一. 但是我不希望我可爱的台式机IPS面板成为触摸屏-我希望全功能的专业用途台式机具有适合键盘和鼠标的界面-Windows 8 只是不提供, 但是没有理由不这样做. 这是双重惹恼-ing作为微软已经添加了一些真正出类拔萃转借fea-Tures的到WIN-DOWS 8 - “stor-年龄空格”来举个例子.

每个儿子盟友我仍然认为双赢DOWS 8 是微软试图ing到“出苹果”的苹果. 这注定要失败,因为想要简单的垃圾的人总会买苹果, 甚至苹果也没有尝试将iOS接口安装到Mac上

回复
的gravatarGTS

原始的评论员可能不想自己做事,但我很乐意为. 我很抱歉地说, 那谁看门诊病房出现,元代仅有人会认为新地铁 用户界面 是有史以来最好的. 无论你是一个巨魔, 或者你只是普通的超FI-CIAL. 新功能没有任何功能上的改进 用户界面, 特别是对于不使用触摸谁的PC用户. 和 顺便说一句, 我们中的一些ACTU的盟友更喜欢使用鼠标在家里, 和键板. 我喜欢ACTU盟友按下一个按钮,感觉有些反馈, 加TYP-ing和我的下鳍蒙古包ACTU的盟友能够感受到家的行. 我不是说,ING没有间面对这, 但CER-tainly比以前要差得多......而随着数以千计的OTH-ERS说,ing的同样的事情, 您怎么可能使它成为一个有效的论点. 我可以整天浪费时间INVAL-ID-AT-ING, 但我想你明白了吧. 我们不是哭ing的老跨面孔, 我们只是不关心无用的,不可用的功能以及删除功能(这些功能从一开始就一直是窗口的定义)而进行的新变化. 就像我说的, 我并没有添加最明显的事实,那就是您必须是一个白痴思考这种事情,.

回复
的gravatarIhatewindows8

unbe-liev,能, 每次毫秒做最坏的事, 他们改变了这一切有什么用已经知道. 现在如果你使用双赢DOWS 8, 你是新生.

我认为所有的新出生的婴儿在windows8的工作,ING.

回复
的gravatarKillerwhale

有没有办法,我要切换到双赢DOWS 8 只要“FEA Tures的”这HOR-rendous 用户界面.

回复
的gravatar克里斯·威廉姆斯

亲爱的哦,亲爱的,这是什么ABSO-琵琶惹所谓双赢DOWS 8? 我会尽力修复个人电脑,并帮助无法理解最简单的windows xp的div- 7 com-指尚未双赢DOWS 8 我觉得像这些div之一. 我试图查找ing在一些照片,再几乎无法找到我的出路. 我最终得到了两个相同的图片,它们并排显示,但只有 50% 每个VIS-IBLE. 我是COM-完全失去了,如果这是一个双赢DOWS未来 操作系统 然后我放弃, 我不想以支持它移植.

回复
的gravatar

其中的Sup-BENE造成千篇一律的双赢DOWS的 8 是活的瓷砖. 之后播放后与运-DOWS 8 前期观点, 我没有看到任何BENE配合他们的.

就拿邮件矩形角. 通过我的一些对瓷砖的最新电子邮件它的周期. 好, 所以这是BENE拟合给我, 我在旁边看的矩形角,直到它变成下一个消息 (和下). 接下来的消息可能是垃圾邮件或irrel-EV-蚂蚁, 让时间浪费. 我还没有看一眼它,并说哇, 这是使用-FUL不HAV-ING进入我的邮箱! 如果你看到一个电子邮件, 你还是要点击它ACTU盟友阅读. 这是一个GIM-米克, 简单明了.

为了使垫子-TERS差, 如果你是在办公室ENVIR按换货 (ESPE - cially HIPPA 1所涵盖), 你必须要知道,离去基的计算机开​​始屏幕上会释放SENS-IT-IVE通知 - 一个重刑. 或者,如果您收到个人电子邮件, 这可能是十分阻遏-RASS-ING. 所以,当你走开一分钟, 什么状态,你离开的计算机中?

双赢DOWS 8 只是生病想出来的. 这让我想起了太多旧菜单系统,这些旧菜单系统是在Windows之前创建的,目的是使用户的生活更轻松. 所有微软现在要做的就是添加一个键板快捷NUM-BER为每瓦和COM - 把-ING的生活圈子将是完整的,欢迎回到DOS!

回复
的gravatar理查德·戴尔

我是Mac用户,但是我使用Win­dows来测试网站并使用CAD的偶尔功能. 我刚刚安装了Win-DOWS最新版本 8 为四月中旬的 2012.

其最的unin-TU-IT-IVE 操作系统 我用过, 为什么他们去掉了开始,但吨级的一直是基岩的双赢DOWS的 操作系统 这么多年???

苹果公司也采取了这种思想的布林-ING他们从的iOS已经学会了Mac 操作系统 我不喜欢它. 至少苹果曾与风格和USAB-IL性一定意义上做到了, 微软所做的是一个笑话.

为什么每 操作系统 这些天专为假人设计?

回复
的gravatar费利佩

我同意在这里, 我现在在少得多害羞建议的补 - ING的人迁移到Linux,因为微软是MAK-ing这些HOR-rible 用户界面 需要大量重新学习的更改.

@Jimbuntu

好, 我认为这是不公平的说,Linux正在做同样的事情. Ubuntu是对错误的方式,去微软风格的HOR-rible 用户界面 改变这种蹩脚的统一. 但Linux不是Ubuntu的. 你有选择的在Linux中, 使用其他分发! 我使用Mageia Linux,对于没有Unity =的传统界面我感到非常满意)

回复
的gravatar忿怒的

我完全同意, 什么是总件垃圾. 我受不了这个东西. 后 30 多年使用的COM-计算机我觉得有学习如何从头再来使用计算机共有的小白. 唯一 MS 是擅长的是惹恼-ING我. 我希望我有一个镍为每一个我诅咒时间 MS 在使用我的电脑. 双赢DOWS 8 真的š***县!. HID-ING一切, 拖更改双赢DOWS左, 右边, 向上, 向下. 完全STU-PID. 有时候事情变得全屏,你不知道怎么弄出来. MS 总是顶他们,自我与每一个新的 操作系统 更斯图pidt比预VI-OUS. 我觉得别人做赢 7, 它的确定,我终于想到 MS 在一起,但现在, blaaaa.…

回复
的gravatarJimbuntu

我过去几天尝试过Cus­tom­er预览版,我不得不说, 我ABSO-lutely恨它! 过去需要 2 单击现在只需 5 要么 6. 这是因为如果每个人都能已经全R ****Ð尝试ing到补习班标签,让台式机上的操作系统. 在Linux中它们的try-ing的同样的事情. Ubuntu的推出了统一, 这是企图ing的同一概念. 不过我还是住 (TOL-ER-吃) 统一, 但可以让生活更富丽堂皇 8 这实在是太可怕.

回复
的gravatar托马斯珏Deluen

是啊, 我认为同样的事情. 新的Windows8 用户界面 是AWFULL.

回复

19windows 8 logoWindows 8: Horrible Horrible Horrible Metro UI

OK, I sus­pect the title is going to give it away.  I down­loaded Win­dows 8 8250 con­sumer pre­view today, and almost imme­di­ately real­ised that as it stands I am going to avoid Win­dows 8 like the plague.  As far as I’m con­cerned the UI changes cur­rently make Win­dows 8 the worst release of Win­dows ever (even worse than Win­dows ME!)

Simply put — Microsoft have taken the excel­lent Win­dows 7, torn off the well bal­anced and integ­rated desktop UI and stitched on some awful Win­dows Phone 7 type inter­face.  Given that Win­dows 7 for desktop PCs has been con­sid­er­ably more suc­cess­ful than Win­dows Phone 7, you have to won­der what Microsoft were thinking.

Another way of put­ting this is to won­der why Microsoft seem so des­per­ate to put a Phone/Tablet UI into a laptop/desktop PC envir­on­ment.  They don’t seem to real­ise that the very BEST thing about a proper PC is pre­cisely that it ISN’T a phone or a tab­let.  People that want those kind of inter­faces will buy those kind of devices.  Fur­ther­more — people that want lim­ited choice and child­ish shiny inter­faces have already all bought Apple products and wont be com­ing back.

Unless they change course I sus­pect that all microsoft will do is ali­en­ate the power users and ama­teur tech­ies and drive them to Linux (or in a few cases Apple).  In the longer term this may prove a big­ger mis­cal­cu­la­tion than MS real­ises.  If you have moved to linux your­self what are you likely to do when you friends, fam­ily, neigh­bours and all those other people who rely on you for tech sup­port ask you what they should run on their PC in the future?  If they have to learn a totally new UI they might as well learn the one that you your­self use because you can help them with it.  And assum­ing that is linux, it wont be all that hard to per­suade people to move to a FREE altern­at­ive, esep­cially given that cur­rent linux UIs are much more sim­ilar to win­dows 7 than win­dows 8 is.

As far as Win­dows Server is con­cerned, I don’t know if the same crack­pot changes have been forced on the UI there, but I can only hope san­ity set in.  I’ll be try­ing it soon and will update this post accordingly.

In the mean­time, I recom­mend stick­ing with Win­dows 7, and hope by the time Microsoft pull the plug on Win­dows 7 sup­port they have decided to go back to a proper desktop UI.

Update

I have pos­ted an update with details of how to restore the tra­di­tional start menu

Think we’ve missed something? Let us know by commenting below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

19 Responses to “Windows 8: Horrible Horrible Horrible Metro UI”

  1. gravatarCRob

    Win­dows 8 is going to tank Microsoft. For the first time in 20 years I’m think­ing about an altern­at­ive OS. And another opin­ion of mine is that the desktop PC is not going away. It’s used in busi­ness and has a huge gam­ing com­munity. MS totally dropped the ball with this metro inter­face. No-one I know likes it.

    Reply
    • gravatarJon Scaife

      It will take more than 1 fail­ure to put them to the sword. Look how well Win 7 recovered them from the Vista dis­aster. I agree that stand­ard PC’s will still be around for a good while longer, but innov­a­tion has moved away quite a lot. If, in 5 or 10 years time, you can sit at your desk which has a mon­itor, mouse and key­board only, and they wire­lessly con­nect to the smart­phone in your pocket, I think that will kill laptops and desktops.
      In the nearer term though — just keep using Win­dows 7 — it’s excel­lent and does everything Win 8 can do.

      Reply
  2. gravatarWes

    Win­dows 8 is bey­ond bad and frus­trat­ing. Microsoft has blown it big time and they know it. We were in a Best Buy two weeks ago and three other couples were also look­ing for a com­puter with Win­dows 7. We exchanged con­tact inform­a­tion when we found Win­dows 7 com­puters con­tac­ted the oth­ers with inform­a­tion. Ever heard of the “New Coke”?

    Reply
  3. gravatarJohnny

    Win­dows 8 is full of ads. It’s like a kids c**p pop up all over the place. I hate it. It’s total junk.

    Reply
  4. gravatarM Widdy

    I had to buy a new machine, and picked up a desktop with Win­dows 8. Oh boy. I have to reboot a couple times a day. Apps lock up. Inter­net con­nec­tions quit work­ing. Etc…

    I should have looked for a desktop with Win­dows 7. Grrr.…. My advice — Wait until Win­dows 8 is either ‘cleaned up’ or wait for the next OS.

    Reply
  5. gravatarPj Patton

    Win­dows 8 is the most intol­er­able sys­tem I have ever worked with and I’m a soft­ware developer from the stone age…maybe that’s the prob­lem but.…“oh my god guys…you screwed up! I want my money back or a revi­sion of some kind.

    Reply
    • gravatarH.S.

      PJ, Don’t feel bad. I love new tech­no­logy, but I have to agree that Win­dows 8 is hor­rible. It has SO many bugs, glitches, and issues that it makes me want to go back to Win­dows 7 des­per­ately. When the PC goes to sleep, it doesn’t want to “wake up” half the time. Pro­gram glitches appear through­out the pro­gram, such as when Pho­toshop is open, you have to change some of the “Per­form­ance” set­tings as Win­dows 8 causes glitches within the pro­gram, as well as title bars going all retro when there is no need for it. The real prob­lem is that com­puter man­u­fac­tur­ers are try­ing to push every­one towards cloud data, and frankly, I like know­ing my inform­a­tion is safely stored on my com­puter. It’s sad to see this down­ward spiral of tech­no­logy, but if we look at “Star Trek” (I’m sorry, but it coin­cides with this), it’s some­thing that has been com­ing for a while. In the shows, all of the com­puter sys­tems are integ­rated so that inform­a­tion is shared with pretty much any­one. Think Face­book, Chrome OS, iCloud, etc. This OS is not user friendly, and is full of problems.

      Reply
  6. gravatarDiogo Pinto

    The level of stu­pid on this page is unbe­liev­able. All of you are spout­ing “OMG CHANGE BAD I WANT SAME WINDOWS FROM 95 PLS”, This release was meant unify the Microsoft eco­sys­tem, its intu­it­ive and easy to use. You can down­load add-ons that dis­able the Met­roUI you guys hate so much but I find it easy to use and much faster than Win­dows 7.

    Win­dows 8 shows that Microsoft does more than just repack­age an old OS and try to re-release it. They try to innov­ate and add new fea­tures. Unity desktop for Ubuntu didn’t give you the option to get the old sys­tem back, you STILL have the desktop in Win­dows 8 and because of how open Win­dows is, you can install your own mods and add-ons to make it look the way you want it to look.

    I’ve been using the 8400 release since it was made avail­able and let me tell you, I haven’t used a bet­ter OS than this one.

    Reply
    • gravatarJon Scaife

      Well, thank you for your com­ment, altho I prefer things not to get personal.

      I’m delighted you like the Win­dows 8 user inter­face. Do you also think it is suit­able for a server OS (e.g. Server 2012)? There is an art­icle on this site detail­ing how to dis­able the metro UI — and to make Win­dows 8 prop­erly usable with a mouse and key­board this is what is pretty much required. How­ever the work­arounds are clunky and I see no good reason for Microsoft not to have given end users, or at least admin level end users, the choice. How would includ­ing the choice have harmed any­one? They could have learned from the mis­takes made with Unity on Ubuntu — lots of former Ubuntu users switched dis­tros pretty damned fast. The fail­ure of Microsoft to take note of this makes their decision even less sensible.

      I’m not “stuck in the past” when it comes to new tech­no­logy — I loved android on my old HTC desire from day 1 — and I’d moved from a Nokia clas­sic 6300 so the change couldn’t have been much more stark. I also loved Win­dows XP when that first came out and upgraded from Win­dows 2000 straight away. Lots of people didn’t like the visual styles of XP at the time, but that was OK because Microsoft left the option to turn them off and go back to a Win­dows 2000 style. I’ve never had much of a prob­lem with “User Account Con­trol” either — but again, Microsoft gave people the option to turn it off. Last but by no means least there is STILL a com­mand shell avail­able for those people “stuck” in the days of DOS. The Win­dows 8 inter­face looks pretty decent for touch­screen devices — i.e. tab­lets and phones. I par­tic­u­larly like the look of the “Sur­face” and am very temp­ted to get one. But I don’t want my lovely desktop IPS panel to be touch screen — I want my full powered professional-use desktop to have an inter­face prop­erly optim­ised for a key­board and mouse — Win­dows 8 just doesn’t offer that, but there is no good reason for it not to. This is doubly annoy­ing as Microsoft HAVE added some really excel­lent fea­tures to Win­dows 8 — “stor­age spaces” to give but one example.

      Per­son­ally I still think Win­dows 8 is Microsoft try­ing to “out-Apple” Apple. This is doomed to fail­ure because people that want simplistic rub­bish will always buy Apple, and even Apple didn’t try to put the iOS inter­face onto their Macs

      Reply
    • gravatargts

      The ori­ginal com­menter may not want to make things per­sonal but I am more than happy to oblige. I am sorry to say, that only someone who looks at out­ward appear­ances would think that the new Metro UI is the best ever. Either you are a troll, or you are just plain super­fi­cial. There is no func­tional improve­ment to the new UI, espe­cially for PC users who do not use touch. And BTW, some of us actu­ally prefer to use the mouse at home, and the key­board. I like to actu­ally press a but­ton and feel some feed­back, plus typ­ing and actu­ally being able to feel home row under my fin­gers. I’m not say­ing there’s NO inter­face for this, but it cer­tainly is much much poorer than before… And with thou­sands of oth­ers say­ing the same thing, how can you pos­sibly make this a valid argu­ment. I could waste time all day inval­id­at­ing, but I think you get the point. We aren’t cry­ing for old inter­faces, we just don’t care for stu­pid new changes with mean­ing­less and unus­able fea­tures and removal of fea­tures that have been a defin­ing aspect of win­dows since the very start. And like I said, i don’t mak­ing it per­sonal by adding the most obvi­ous fact that you must be an idiot to think such things.

      Reply
  7. gravatarIhatewindows8

    unbe­liev­able, ms doing worst thing every time, they changed all what use have been knows. now if you using win­dows 8, you are the new born.

    I think all the new born baby work­ing on the windows8.

    Reply
  8. gravatarKillerwhale

    There’s no way I’m going to switch to Win­dows 8 as long as it “fea­tures” this hor­rendous UI.

    Reply
  9. gravatarChris Williams

    dear oh dear what is this abso­lute mess called win­dows 8? i make a liv­ing out of fix­ing pc’s and help­ing divs who can’t fathom out the simplest of win­dows xp — 7 com­mands yet in win­dows 8 i feel like one of these divs. i tried look­ing at some pic­tures and could barely find my way out. i ended up with two identical pic­tures show­ing side by side but only 50% of each vis­ible. i was com­pletely lost and if this is the future of win­dows OS then i give up, i don’t want to sup­port it.

    Reply
  10. gravatarTim

    One of the sup­posed bene­fits of Win­dows 8 is live tiles. After play­ing with the Win­dows 8 pre­view, I don’t see any bene­fit of them.

    Take the mail rect­angle. It cycles through some of my most recent email on the tile. Okay, so for that to be of bene­fit to me, I have to sit and watch the rect­angle until it changes to the next mes­sage (and the next). The next mes­sage may be spam or irrel­ev­ant, so that time is wasted. I have yet to glance at it and say wow, that was use­ful not hav­ing to go into my email! And if you see an email, you still have to click on it to actu­ally read it. It’s a gim­mick, plain and simple.

    To make mat­ters worse, if you’re in an office envir­on­ment (espe­cially one covered under HIPPA), you have to be aware that leav­ing your com­puter on the Start screen could release sens­it­ive inform­a­tion. Or if you’ve got a per­sonal email com­ing in, it might be quite embar­rass­ing. So when you walk away for a minute, what state do you leave the com­puter in?

    Win­dows 8 is just ill thought out. It reminds me too much of the old menu sys­tems that were cre­ated BEFORE Win­dows to make life easier for users. All Microsoft has to do now is add a key­board short­cut num­ber to each tile and the circle of com­put­ing life will be complete–welcome back to DOS!

    Reply
  11. gravatarRichard Dale

    I’m a mac user but I use Win­dows to test web­sites on and use the occa­sional bit of CAD. I’ve just installed the latest build of Win­dows 8 as of Mid April 2012.

    Its the most unin­tu­it­ive OS I’ve ever used, why have they removed the Start But­ton that has been the bed­rock of the Win­dows OS for so many years???

    Apple have also taken this idea of brin­ing what they have learnt from iOS to the Mac OS and I don’t like it. At least Apple have done it with some sense of style and usab­il­ity, what Microsoft have done is a joke.

    Why is every OS these days designed for dummies?

    Reply
  12. gravatarFelipe

    I agree here, now I am much less shy at recom­mend­ing people to migrate to Linux because Microsoft is mak­ing these hor­rible UI changes which require a lot of relearn­ing anyway.

    @Jimbuntu

    Well, I think it is not fair to say that Linux is doing the same thing. Ubuntu is on the wrong way and going Microsoft-style with a hor­rible UI change to this crappy Unity. But Linux is not Ubuntu. You have choice in Linux, use another dis­tri­bu­tion! I use Mageia Linux and I am very happy with the tra­di­tional inter­face without Unity =)

    Reply
  13. gravatarpeeved

    I totally agree, what a total piece of garbage. I can’t stand this thing. After 30 years of using com­puters I feel like a total noob that has to learn how to use a com­puter all over again. The only thing MS is good at is annoy­ing me. I wish I had a nickle for every time I cursed MS while using my PC. Win­dows 8 REALLY s***s!. Hid­ing everything, drag­ging win­dows left, right, up, down. Totally stu­pid. Some­times things get full screen and you don’t know how to get out. MS always tops them­selves with each and every new OS more stu­pidt than the pre­vi­ous. I think someone else made Win 7, it’s ok and I finally thought MS got it together but now, blaaaa.…

    Reply
  14. gravatarJimbuntu

    I tried the Cus­tomer Pre­view for the last few days and I have to say, I abso­lutely hate it! What used to take 2 clicks now takes 5 or 6. It is as if every­one has gone full r****d try­ing to cram tab­let OSes on Desktops. In Linux they are try­ing the same thing. Ubuntu rolled out Unity, which is attempt­ing the same concept. Still I COULD live (tol­er­ate) Unity, but could never live tol­er­ate Win­dows 8 it is just too awful.

    Reply