2سامسونج غالاكسي S3سامسونج غالاكسي S3 & ملحوظة 2: تعديل و, نصائح & القرص

لقد كان لي غالاكسي S3 ما يزيد قليلا عن الشهر بالفعل، وكانت ببطء تجميع قائمة جديرة بالاهتمام من النصائح والقرص التي تستخدم ويمكن أن يوصي للمستخدمين الآخرين. لقد تحديث القائمة لتشمل نصائح لملاحظة غالاكسي 2 التي شريكي لديها الآن. وكثير من هذه قد تنطبق أيضا على سامسونج الأخرى أو حتى غيرها من الهواتف الروبوت, ولكن بعضها خاص لS3 المجرة أو ملاحظة غالاكسي 2. وبكل الوسائل في محاولة منهم بغض النظر عن الهاتف وعلينا أن نعرف كيف تحصل على.

تحديث رئيسية (18العاشر-أكتوبر 2012): ويشمل الآن نصائح لكلا غالاكسي S3 وغالاكسي ملاحظة 2. نصائح هي على حد سواء الهواتف ما لم يذكر.

1. اجتثاث جذوره

رغم ما كنت قد سمعت في مكان آخر تأصيل الآن هو إجراء سريع جدا وغير مؤلم. من الناحية الفنية فإنه لا تنتهك الضمان, لكن, إذا كنت بحاجة إلى استخدام الضمان ببساطة unroot مرة أخرى قبل أن تعود الهاتف. Unrooting غير سهلة مثلما التأصيل. لقد كتبت بالفعل إجراء استئصال لل مجرة S3 وملحوظة 2 وذلك بدلا من تكراره هنا مجرد قراءة مقالاتي الأصلية.

2. تثبيت AdFree

أنا على استعداد للمراهنة على عدد لا بأس به من استخدام بالفعل Adblock زائد في فايرفوكس أو كروم على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك. لماذا تعاني من الإعلانات على الهاتف الخاص بك - وخاصة لأنها يمكن أن تدق عمر البطارية?  AdFree هو التطبيق -جدوى قادرة على Google Play الذي يمنع الإعلانات على هاتفك. ومن يعدل ملف المضيفين لذلك كتل الإعلانات في جميع التطبيقات وليس فقط عندما كنت تصفح الإنترنت. يجب عليك أن تكون متجذرة على الرغم من, حتى عد هذا الأمر سبب وجيه الأول للقيام الجذر المذكورة في الخطوة 1. اعتبارا من 11 أبريل 2013 جوجل أزالت جميع تطبيقات AdBlocking من سوق Play. يمكنك الحصول على AdFree مباشرة من BigTinCan.com.  لمزيد من إعلام واحد في نشوئها, ترى لدينا أحدث ICLE جوجل تزيل إعلان تطبيقات كتلة جي: الحصول عليها هنا

3. ترقية التطبيق الكاميرا

تحديث: أنا لم تعد تستخدم وزارة الدفاع هذا كما المدمج في الكاميرا التطبيق قد تحسنت في الروبوت 4.1.2 وزارة الدفاع هذا هو عربات التي تجرها الدواب، ولم يعد يجري تطويرها بنشاط. لكن, لا يزال بإمكانك المضي قدما إذا كنت ترغب ...

وربما هذا هو وزارة الدفاع اشتهر غالاكسي S3 & ملاحظة 2. عضو XDA مطورين hyperX لديها وزارة الدفاع ط إليهم من-المدمج في عصر كام التطبيق وتعزيز ذلك في عدة طرق. وزارة الدفاع متاح إما ملف apk. والتي يمكنك نسخ أكثر من الأصلي, أو أنه يأتي بمثابة الرمز البريدي flashable. امض الرمز البريدي يتم عن طريق الانتعاش (e.g. العمل على مدار الساعة وزارة الدفاع) التي تحصل عند الجذر. بدلا من ذلك يمكنك الإفراط في كتابة apk. لمع التطبيق مدير الملفات (e.g. إكسبلورر ES الملف, -جدوى قادرة خالية من جوجل اللعب) ولكن مرة أخرى, عليك أن تكون متجذرة, حتى عد هذا الأمر سبب وجيه الثاني للقيام الجذر المذكورة في الخطوة 1.

4. تمكين أسلوب SWYPE مدخلات لوحة المفاتيح

مع أحدث هواتف غالاكسي وشملت سامسونج وظائف مفاتيح Swype الشبيهة. أجد هذا مفيدا عندما تحاول اكتب عندما أكون أحد الركاب في سيارة بينما يحافظ إصبعي على الشاشة هو أسهل من أن تكون دقيقة إذا كان الطريق ليست حريري على نحو سلس. انتقل إلى الشاشة الرئيسية., اضغط على زر القائمة وحدد الإعدادات. اختيار "اللغة ولوحة المفاتيح" ثم "لوحات المفاتيح وطرق إدخال النص". اضغط على العتاد عجلة بجوار الخيار "سامسونج لوحة المفاتيح". تأكد من "النص التنبؤي" تم تعيينها على وثم تشغيل "مدخلات مستمرة" (لا يجب أن يكون تنصهر يخدع مع مفتاح متن ممغنطة!)

5. انشاء الوجه فتح الاعتراف

إلا إذا كنت في حاجة الى الهاتف آمنة بغباء وجود صوت أو فتح الوجه هو في الواقع سهل جدا, يمكنني استخدام الوجه المعترف ني نشوئها فتح في كل وقت, لها أكثر فائدة بكثير من وجود انتقاد نمط أو إدخال رقم التعريف الشخصي. انتقل إلى الشاشة الرئيسية., اضغط على زر القائمة وحدد الإعدادات. اختيار الأمن, قفل الشاشة ثم فتح الوجه. اتبع الإرشادات لإعداده. هناك خيارات أخرى يمكنك أيضا إعداد - اختيار ما يناسبك.

6. بدوره على "إقامة الذكية" لمنع مهلة الشاشة عند الاستخدام

On of the well pub­li­cised fea­tures isn’t actu­ally enabled by default. I can­’t under­stand why as its one of the most use­ful fea­tures I’ve found on the S3 com­pared to my old HTC Desire. Smart Stay uses the front-facing cam­era to pre­vent the screen timeout turn­ing the screen off if it detects that you are look­ing at the screen. To turn it on go to the home-screen, اضغط على زر القائمة واختر إعدادات. فتح إعدادات العرض وتشغيل "إقامة الذكية". سهل هكذا.

Prey_QR7. تثبيت الفريسة

الهواتف الذكية المتميزة دائما هدفا للصوص الغني, ولكن بفضل بهم GPS واتصالات البيانات أنه من الممكن أن يقلب المائدة على أن يكون بين حثالة. خدمة مجانية فريسة يوفر التطبيق صغير الذي قمت بتثبيت واقترانه حسابك. ويمكنك بعد ذلك تحديد موقع عن بعد, السيطرة أو قفل الجهاز. يمكنك أيضا جعل الجهاز جعل ضوضاء عالية لمساعدتك في العثور عليه إذا كنت قد فقدت في مكان ما في المنزل.

8. النظر في بعض التطبيقات على قائمتي أوصى

كل 6-9 أشهر ونشر قائمة من التطبيقات التي أنا أستعمل بانتظام. انهم تقريبا مجانا الإطلاق, ولقد سردت لهم تماما لأنني استخدامها - لا يوجد شيء برعاية هناك. نلقي نظرة علىأحدث التطبيقات، قائمة ومعرفة ما إذا كان أي شيء يأخذ بك نزوة.

9. إعدادات لصناعة السيارات لمسي (وأضاف 10 أغسطس 12)

وتشمل الهواتف غالاكسي ل"لصناعة السيارات لمسي" الميزة التي تبين كل الأصوات أنتج في السيارات الفعل اللمسية. هذا هو فعلا مفيد لبعض التطبيقات, ولكن مضيعة للطاقة للآخرين. لحسن الحظ أنه يمكن تطويعه من قبل التطبيق. لتشغيله الذهاب إلى إعدادات, الصوت وانتقل إلى أسفل وانقر على شريط التمرير لتحويل السيارات لمسي جرا. ثم اضغط على اسم "لصناعة السيارات في لمسي" لفتح قائمة التطبيقات. تطبيقات الفردية إلغاء تحديد التي كنت لا تريد لصناعة السيارات في لمسي, e.g. تطبيقات الملاحة ومشغلات الوسائط.

10. القوائم خدمة الوصول (وأضاف 16 أكتوبر 12)

وهناك العديد من الرموز التي يمكن أن تدخل إلى طالب للوصول إلى العديد من القوائم الخدمة. وهناك أيضا بعض رموز تطوف على شبكة الانترنت من شأنها أن مصنع إعادة تعيين الهاتف الخاص بك. لا تطلب رموز عشوائية في دون التحقق منها أولا!

  • *#0*# - وهذا يحصل لك شاشة LCD التي اختبار لديها الكثير من الخيارات
  • *#1234# - وهذا يقول لك معلومات الإصدار sftware
  • *#12580*369# - وهذا يحصل على نفس أعلاه بالإضافة إلى بعض المعلومات الإضافية بما في ذلك مراجعة الأجهزة
  • *#0228# - وهذا يحصل على معلومات حالة البطارية

11. باستخدام جهاز استشعار الحركة (وأضاف 16 أكتوبر 12)

بدوره على جهاز استشعار الحركة ومختلف الخيارات الفرعية لتمكين الكثير من الطرق للتحكم في الهاتف من خلال إمالة اللف والهز, بما فيه:

  • انتقد النخيل عبر اليمين إلى اليسار لتأخذ لقطة (أو مجرد عقد القائمة وأزرار الطاقة في نفس الوقت)
  • يهز لإحضار طالب
  • تسليم لكتم مكالمة
  • قمة ثنائية الحنفية للعودة إلى أعلى في الكثير من التطبيقات مع التمرير
  • عقد مرتين على الصور للتكبير وعقد واحد ونقل الهاتف للتنقل صورة

12. تحسين سرعة شحن (وأضاف 16 أكتوبر 12)

الهواتف سام سونج, مثل HTC و (وغالبا-باقتدار الغير المتطلبات البيئية،) التهمة الوحيدة بأقصى سرعة من المزود الجدار ثؤلول. في الجدار ثؤلول ل USB دبابيس البيانات (2 و 3) وقلل معا لنقول للهاتف رسم الحالية أعلى من الشاحن. في حين أنه ليس من السهل (أو ADVIS قادرة) في محاولة لتحقيق هذا مع جهاز كمبيوتر, فمن نقاط البيع إيصال خدمات الإيداع للقيام بذلك مع رخيصة 3بحث وتطوير الشحن الحزب والشحن في السيارة. ببساطة فتح ما يصل الجهاز والقصير وسط 2 الدبابيس. للحصول على معلومات أكثر تفصيلا أرىقبل VI-الأوس الفن ICLE حول كيفية القيام بذلك للهواتف HTC - فإن الإجراء تكون متطابقة.

13. تعطيل مزعج "علامة التبويب" في الجزء السفلي ل "وضع الإطار المتعدد" (وأضاف 12 يناير 13)

يمكنك مؤقتا إيقاف نافذة متعددة بواسطة الضغط على زر التراجع ل~ 2 ثانية. لكن, عقد مرة ثانية يجلب نافذة متعددة الظهر. لإيقاف هذا بشكل دائم انتقل إلى إعدادات, العرض وإلغاء تحديد "نافذة متعددة"

14. حل عدم وجود التصحيح التلقائي / autosubstitute في Jellybean وأحدث (وأضاف 25 فبراير 13)

تحديث: ترى غيض 16 أدناه للحصول على لوحة المفاتيح البديل نوصي

سام سونغ, في هم، شركة Infin الفنار نظام معلومات المنظمة دوم, وقد قررت لإزالة واحدة من أهم السمات الأساسية للوحة المفاتيح في التحديث إلى أندرويد 4.1 (هلام الفول): التحديد التلقائي للكلمة على الأرجح!  للأسف لديهم موقع حليف إزالة هذا, لا توجد وسيلة لتشغيله مرة أخرى في الإعدادات. وبالتالي, توقف جي جملت الوقت محاولة جي للحصول على إعادته (أو إذا كنت أتساءل يتصور أن مجرد انها عملت مرة واحدة) والحصول على لوحة المفاتيح بديل من سوق Play. يرجى الرد على توصيات لوحة المفاتيح البديلة الخاصة بك في التعليقات أدناه. شكر.

15. بدوره على "جوجل الآن" (وأضاف 30 مارس 13)

هناك عدة طرق لتشغيل والوصول جوجل الآن. أسهل هو الضغط باستمرار على زر القائمة - جوجل الآن يجب فقط مفتوحة. يمكنك أيضا الوصول إليه عن طريق الضغط باستمرار على زر المنزل لمدة 2-3 ثواني, وعندما يتغير الشاشة انقر على زر 'ز' في مركز القاع.

16. استبدال لوحة المفاتيح مع لوحة المفاتيح جوجل (Added 7‑June-13)

مع التحديث قبل VI-الأوس (لست متأكدا بالضبط مما), سامسونج غيرت ظائف لوحة المفاتيح قليلا, والتنبؤ كلمة لم يعد يختار الكلمة الأكثر احتمالا - النصوص يعني يستغرق وقتا أطول للكتابة, أو تحتوي على الكثير المزيد من الأخطاء. وقد أصدرت جوجل الآن على الافتراضي مفتاح متن على اللعب المتجر بحيث يمكنك تحميل واستخدامها بدلا من ذلك (مجانا).  وكانت كل ردود الفعل التي رأيتها حتى الآن إيجابية جدا محاولة إعطائها ونرى ما اذا كنت تفضل ذلك.

17. وقف الفيسبوك دردشة تتبع لكم(Added 7‑June-13)

Assum-IGN كنت تستخدم وجها الكتاب على هاتفك (وأنا ضيف رئيسي إيتي-سيج ني المرورية-النمل تفعل) يجوز لك (أو لا يجوز) لاحظت أن إذا قمت بإرسال رسالة إلى شخص وسوف تشمل موقعك. لتعطيل هذه تحتاج إلى تثبيت "وجه الكتاب ميس صن-GER"تطبيق من سوق Play. وبمجرد تركيب, فتح شفرات الالماني, انقر على القائمة ولكن طن, وحدد الإعدادات. انقر على "الموقع" وإلغاء تحديد "الموقع على". ثم حدد OK واستخدام الزر الخلفي للخروج من التطبيق.

18. الحصول على رسائل الفيسبوك على الشاشة الرئيسية(Added 7‑June-13)

وقد صدر الفيسبوك "الفيسبوك الرئيسية" وظيفة للهواتف الذكية التي تسمح الفيسبوك للتفاعل مع الشاشة الرئيسية الخاصة بك وتظهر على الجزء العلوي من التطبيقات الأخرى. للسماح للرسائل لتظهر (أو لإخفائها) بدون تثبيت كاملوجه الكتاب الرئيسية التطبيق يمكنك استخداموجه الكتاب ميس صن-الالماني التطبيق.  تثبيته من مخزن اللعب, فتحه, اضغط على زر القائمة وحدد "إعدادات". حدد "الإشعارات"، ومن ثم تمكين (أو ديس قادرة) "رؤساء الدردشة". ثم تحتاج إلى الحصول على شخص لنرسل لك رسالة - يجب أن يطفو على السطح بغض النظر عن ما لديك مفتوحة على هاتفك. ومنذ ذلك الحين يمكنك فتح أي رسالة, قديمة أو جديدة, وسوف يطفو على السطح جولة عائم "رئيس" لتتبع محادثة.

19. زيادة عمر البطارية مع بطارية أكبر(Added 7‑June-13)

بطاريات متوافقة قدرة أعلى متوفرة الآن. وS3 يحتوي على بطارية 3.8V 7.98Wh وفقا لمعايير. وهذا يترجم (من P = IV) في 2079mAh, أو 2100mAh بطارية كما تسويقها. هي "الذهب" بدائل الصف المتاحة تصل إلى 3250mAh بمثابة معيار نوبة, وتصل إلى 5500mAh مع قطعة fatterback. وهذا يساوي 55% أكبر لصالح القياسية, و 260٪ أكبر مع أكبر استبدال أكبر الظهر. باستخدام أجزاء غير حقيقية بالطبع سوف يبطل الضمان الخاص بك.

هذا كل شيء في الوقت الراهن, ولكن أنا متأكد من أنه سيكون هناك نصائح إضافية قادمة في المستقبل.

يرجى ان ترسل الينا أفكارك عن طريق التعليق أدناه! إذا كنت ترغب في الاشتراك يرجى استخدام الرابط الاشتراك في القائمة في اعلى اليمين. يمكنك أيضا مشاركة هذا مع أصدقائك باستخدام الروابط الاجتماعية أدناه. في صحتك.

اترك رد

2 تعليقات

غرفترجوستين

مفتاح متن سوغ-غيس، ستعقد: SWYPE, بالتاكيد, يبعد كلاس كذا. Swiftkey جيدة جدا إذا كنت لا تمانع في خرق للخصوصية في اسم من الراحة. أنا الحالي اهلدف اليوم-GO باستخدام مفتاح المجلس. تم الاعلان ISED-أن يكون جدا سلطات الجمارك توم-عز قادرة. للأسف, أنها تعني مجرد عمود-ORS ومثل هذه, ليس كثيرا في طريق فتصاميم. ولكن أود أن يعيد تصحيح تلقائي وقسم التعبيرات أكثر جوجل لوحة المفاتيح مثل. ما زلت افتقد صف من مفاتيح الأرقام على طول الجزء العلوي من لوحة المفاتيح ألفا, لكنه لا يملك لطيفة جدا وسادة عدد 10 مفتاح يمكنك إحضار في أي وقت. كوم فقط-ظلامة هو أن لديها 1 في أعلى اليسار بدلا من بوت توم ترك.

الرد

2Samsung Galaxy S3Samsung Galaxy S3 & Note 2: Mods, tips & tweaks

I’ve had my Galaxy S3 a little over a month already and have slowly been compiling a worthwhile list of tips and tweaks that I use and can recommend to other users.  I’ve updated the list to include tips for the Galaxy Note 2 which my partner now has.  Many of these may also apply to other Samsung or even other android phones, but some are specific to the galaxy S3 or Galaxy Note 2.  By all means try them regardless of phone and let us know how you get on.

Major update (18th-Oct-2012): Now includes tips for both Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2.  Tips are for both phones unless noted.

1. Root it

Despite what you may have heard elsewhere rooting now is a very quick and painless procedure.  Technically it does violate your warranty, however, if you need to use the warranty simply unroot again before returning the phone.  Unrooting is just as easy as rooting.  I’ve already written up the rooting procedure for the Galaxy S3 and the Note 2 so rather than repeat it here just read my original articles.

2. Install AdFree

I’m willing to bet a good number of you already use Adblock Plus in Firefox or Chrome on your PC.  Why suffer the ads on your phone – especially as they can hammer battery life?  AdFree is an app available on Google Play which blocks ads on your phone.  It modifies the hosts file so it blocks ads in all apps not just when you’re web browsing.  You do need to be rooted though, so count this as the first good reason to do the root mentioned in step 1.  As of 11-Apr-2013 Google have removed all AdBlocking apps from the Play Store.  You can get AdFree directly from BigTinCan.com.  For more information, see our article Google removes ad blocking apps: Get them here

3. Upgrade the camera app

Update: I no longer use this mod as the built-in camera app has improved in Android 4.1.2 and this mod is buggy and no longer being actively developed.  However, you can still go ahead if you wish…

This is probably the best known mod for the Galaxy S3 & Note 2.  XDA-Developers member hyperX has modified the built-in camera app and enhanced it in several ways.  The mod is available either as an .apk which you can copy over the original, or it comes as a flashable zip.  Flashing the zip is done via recovery (e.g. clockworkmod) which you get when you root.  Alternatively you can over-write the .apk with a file manager app (e.g. ES File Explorer, available free from Google Play) but again, you need to be rooted, so count this as your second good reason to do the root mentioned in step 1.

4. Enable swype-style keyboard input

With the newest Galaxy phones Samsung have included Swype-like functionality.  I find this useful when trying to type when I’m a passenger in a car as keeping my finger on the screen is easier than being accurate if the road isn’t silky smooth.  Go to the home-screen, press the menu button and select settings.  Choose “language and keyboard” and then “keyboards and input methods”.  Press on the gear-wheel next to the “Samsung keyboard” option.  Make sure “predictive text” is set on and then turn on “continuous input” (not to be confused with keyboard swipe!)

5. Set up facial recognition unlocking

Unless you need a stupidly secure phone having voice or facial unlocking is actually pretty handy, I use facial recognition unlock all the time, its much handier than having the swipe a pattern or enter a pin.  Go to the home-screen, press the menu button and select settings.  Choose security, screen lock and then face unlock. Follow the instructions to set it up.  There are other options you can also set up – choose whatever suits you.

6. Turn on “smart stay” to prevent screen timeout when in use

On of the well publicised features isn’t actually enabled by default.  I can’t understand why as its one of the most useful features I’ve found on the S3 compared to my old HTC Desire.  Smart Stay uses the front-facing camera to prevent the screen timeout turning the screen off if it detects that you are looking at the screen.  To turn it on go to the home-screen, press the menu button and choose settings.  Open the display settings and turn on “smart stay”.  Simple as that.

Prey_QR7. Install prey

Premium smartphones are always a rich target for thieves, but thanks to their GPS and data connections it is possible to turn the tables on would-be scum.  The free service prey provides a small app which you install and associate with your account.  You can then remotely locate, control or lock your device.  You can also make the device make a loud noise to help you find it if you’ve lost it somewhere in the house.

8. Consider some of the apps on my recommended list

Every 6-9 months I publish a list of the apps that I’ve been using regularly.  They’re almost all free, and I’ve listed them entirely because I use them – there’s nothing sponsored there.  Take a look at the most recent apps-list and see if anything takes your fancy.

9. Auto-haptic settings (Added 10-Aug-12)

The Galaxy phones include an “auto haptic” feature which turns all outputted sounds into auto haptic feedback.  This is really useful for some apps, but a waste of power for others.  Fortunately it can be customised by app.  To turn it on go to Settings, Sound and scroll to the bottom and click the slider to turn auto-haptic on.  Then Press and hold on the “auto-haptic” name to open a list of apps.  Untick individual apps for which you don’t want auto-haptic, e.g. navigation apps and media players.

10. Access service menus (Added 16-Oct-12)

There are various codes you can enter into the dialer to gain access to several service menus.  There are also some codes floating around on the internet that will factory reset your phone.  Don’t dial random codes in without checking them first!

  • *#0*# – this gets you the LCD test screen which has lots of options
  • *#1234# – this tells you sftware version information
  • *#12580*369# – this gets the same as above plus some additional information including the hardware revision
  • *#0228# – this gets battery status information

11. Using the motion sensor (Added 16-Oct-12)

Turn on the motion sensor and its various sub-options to enable lots of ways of controlling the phone through tilting twisting and shaking, including:

  • swipe palm across right to left to take a screenshot (or just hold the menu and power buttons at the same time)
  • shake to bring up the dialer
  • turn over to mute a call
  • double tap top to return to top in lots of apps with scrolling
  • double hold on images to zoom and single hold and move phone to move around image

12. Improve charging speed (Added 16-Oct-12)

Samsung phones, Like HTC’s (and probably others) only charge at full speed from the supplied wall-wart.  In the wall-wart the USB data pins (2 and 3) are shorted together to tell the phone to draw a higher current from the charger.  Whilst it is not easy (or advisable) to try to achieve this with a PC, it is possible to do so with cheap 3rd party chargers and in-car chargers.  Simply open the device up and short the middle 2 pins.  For more detailed information see my previous article about how to do this for HTC phones – the procedure will be identical.

13. Disable the annoying “tab” at the bottom for “multi window mode” (Added 12-Jan-13)

You can temporarily turn off multi window by holding the back button down for ~2 seconds.  However, holding back a second time brings multi window back.  To turn this off permanently go to settings, display and untick “Multi window”

14. Resolving the lack of autocorrect / autosubstitute in Jellybean and newer (Added 25-Feb-13)

Update: See tip 16 below for the alternative keyboard we recommend

Samsung, in their infinite wisdom, have decided to remove one of the most fundamental features of the keyboard in the update to Android 4.1 (JellyBean): the automatic selection of the most likely word!  Sadly they have actually removed this, there is no way to turn it back on in settings.  So, stop wasting time trying to get it back (or wondering if you just imagined that it once worked) and get an alternative keyboard from the Play Store.  Please post your alternative keyboard recommendations in the comments below.  Thanks.

15. Turn on “Google Now” (Added 30-Mar-13)

There are several ways to turn on and access google now.  The easiest is to press and hold the menu button – google now should just open.  You can also access it by holding down the home button for 2-3 seconds, and when the screen changes click on the ‘g’ button at the bottom centre.

16. Replace the keyboard with the Google Keyboard (Added 7-June-13)

With a previous update (I’m not sure exactly which), Samsung changed the keyboard functionality slightly, and word prediction no longer chooses the most likely word – meaning texts take longer to write, or contain lots more errors.  Google have now released their default keyboard on the Play Store so you can download and use it instead (for free).  All the feedback I have seen so far has been positive so give it a try and see if you prefer it.

17. Stop Facebook chat tracking you (Added 7-June-13)

Assumign you use Facebook on your phone (and I guest a significant majority do) you may (or may not) have noticed that if you send a message to someone it will include your location.  To disable this you need to install the “Facebook Messenger” application from the Play Store.  Once installed, open messenger, click on the menu button, and select settings.  Click on “Location” and untick “Location is on”.  Then select OK and use the back button to exit the app.

18. Get Facebook messages on your home screen (Added 7-June-13)

Facebook have released “Facebook Home” functionality for smartphones which allows facebook to interact with your homescreen and appear over the top of other applications.  To allow messages to show up (or to hide them) without installing the entire Facebook Home app you can use the Facebook Messenger app.  Install it from the play store, open it, press the menu button and select “settings”.  Select “Notifications” and then enable (or disable) “Chat Heads”.  You then need to get someone to send you a message – it should pop up no matter what you have open on your phone.  From then on you can open any message, old or new, and it will pop up a round floating “head” to track the conversation.

19. Increase battery life with a bigger battery (Added 7-June-13)

Higher capacity compatible batteries are now available.  The S3 has a 7.98Wh 3.8V battery as standard.  This translates (from P=IV) into 2079mAh, or 2100mAh as marketed.  “Gold” grade substitutes are available up to 3250mAh as a standard fit, and up to 5500mAh with a fatterback piece.  This equates to 55% greater for a standard fit, and 260% greater with a larger larger replacement back.  Using non-genuine parts will of course invalidate your warranty.

That’s all for now, but I’m sure there will be additional tips coming in the future.

What do you think? Drop us a comment below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

2 Comments

gravatar Justin

Keyboard suggestions: Swype, of course, is a classic. Swiftkey is very good if you don’t mind a breach of privacy in the name of convenience. I am currently using GO Keyboard. It was advertised to be very customizable. Unfortunately, they just mean colors and such, not much in the way of layout. But I like that it brings back auto-correct and a more google-keyboard-like emoticon section. I still miss the row of number keys along the top of the alpha keyboard, but it has a very nice 10-key number pad you can bring up at any time. Only complaint is that it has 1 at the top left instead of bottom left.

Reply